Laptop isolation - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2012, 08:52 AM
Glow Plugs Only
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,441
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Laptop isolation

Heres one for the electronics guy's. I was reading through the information with the AutoEnginuity laptop software and it mentions that if using the laptops power cord to be sure it has an isolated cicuit to prevent a ground loop which could damage the ECM or laptop electronics. Would using an inverter to plug the laptop into be considered an isolation transformer or would an isolation transformer in conjuction with the inverter be required?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-26-2012, 08:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,811
Thanks: 59
Thanked 153 Times in 147 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I never chance it I run off of Battery when I use mine ,,

probably an Idle threat but a CYA disclaimer I bet

you can always shoot them an email ,, they are good at responding
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-26-2012, 09:05 AM
Glow Plugs Only
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,441
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZMANN View Post
I never chance it I run off of Battery when I use mine ,,

probably an Idle threat but a CYA disclaimer I bet

you can always shoot them an email ,, they are good at responding
I'm with you on that one. I always run it off battery but on long trips if I want to do some monitorring it may be an issue. I think I will send them an e-mail and see what they say.
Cheers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-26-2012, 09:23 AM
Glow Plugs Only
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,441
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just went to the AE site and drilled down through the FAQ's to some rather disturbing photo's they have posted showing the damage which can occur without an isolated ground. Think if I need power while it's connected to the OBDll it'll be my jump booster powerring the computer so there is absolutely no chance of a ground loop.
Cheers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-26-2012, 09:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,811
Thanks: 59
Thanked 153 Times in 147 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
can u link to them I was just there and couldn't find them?? oh I am sending a PM to ya also for another favor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-26-2012, 09:57 AM
Glow Plugs Only
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,441
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I went here and then the FAQ's and answered the PM as well
Cheers
Don

AutoEnginuity® - OBD2 Scan Tool - Professional PC and PDA Diagnostics
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-26-2012, 10:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,811
Thanks: 59
Thanked 153 Times in 147 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks a Ton ! ! !!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-26-2012, 10:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,811
Thanks: 59
Thanked 153 Times in 147 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-26-2012, 03:06 PM
Glow Plugs Only
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,441
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Scary stuff. I don't wanna even attempt it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-28-2012, 07:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 392
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
have you tried the Laptop charger bypass kit from Walmart? GE Indoor Outdoor Extension Cord 50' Extension Cord, General Purpose Extension Cord, Grounded Extension Cord

worked great when i reflashed my NAvi and was too lazy to get into and out of the truck a dozen times
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors