Inverter install - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 680
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Inverter install

I did a search but there wasn't anything on wiring one. I have a 400w inverter that has the plug for cigarette lighter. I want to hardwire it. Will only be using it to charge cell phone or batteries for camcorder. Can I just splice into wires of the power oulet on the truck? What about wiring to upfitters switches? I have them in my 05 and the only one that I am using is for high idle mod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 1,256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, you can wire it into the switches. I would advise against hardwiring it directly into on of the power outlets, with the switch, you could atleast turn it on and off, and not have constant drain.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 680
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerhoghp View Post
Yes, you can wire it into the switches. I would advise against hardwiring it directly into on of the power outlets, with the switch, you could atleast turn it on and off, and not have constant drain.
The inverter has an on/off if that matters. Does it matter which switch I use? Does it need an inline fuse? I dont even know where the upfitter wires are at.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 1,256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You could run wires directly from your battery, with an inline fuse, to your inverter.
You could run wires from the upfitter switches, which i believe you can find the ends of near the ebrake, someone correct me if i'm wrong, as for which switch, it doesn't matter, but the 3rd and 4th ones are lower amp switches, and you may wish to save the others for lights, etc down the road.
You could tap off of one of the cigarette lighters or 12v power ports aswell, using a fuse in that case may be more trouble than its worth, as if there is an issue, the fuse for that outlet in the truck would simply blow.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 1,256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is a more detailed description of where the wires are...

upfitter switch wires, WHERE? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 565
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Might want to double check your booklet that came with your inverter. If you ever need to have the full capacity of your inverter you'll need to hardwire directly to the battery, at least I did for my 500w inverter. If I used the cigarette light plug, I was limited to just 100w.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-08-2011, 07:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 680
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedEagle View Post
Might want to double check your booklet that came with your inverter. If you ever need to have the full capacity of your inverter you'll need to hardwire directly to the battery, at least I did for my 500w inverter. If I used the cigarette light plug, I was limited to just 100w.
Good point but I do not think I would have a problem as I am only charging phone or camcorder. Also I will usually be driving while doing this so the truck batteries will be charging.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-12-2011, 07:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 680
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I decided to wire it to the cigarette lighter. Hardest part was removing the seats to mount it under middle seat. Did not want to wire to upfitter switch because I would not be able to use it unless truck was on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors