03 Radio Help.... (NO TUNES) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 05:39 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
CRATUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
03 Radio Help.... (NO TUNES)

So Im just settling into my new ride,
finally got the wife to decide on a head unit since the truck didn't come with a radio.

Lucky for me the previous owner cut the plug.... (WHAT!!!)

So now I have a GOB of wires to deal with,
So I began looking at the harness that came with the radio and after doing some Google searches thought I had a grasp on the situation.

the bad is the radio didn't work once I wired everything up, so checked fuses all good....

then I noticed I have some wires left over,
a red with a black stripe and maybe 1 or 2 more.

Does anyone either,

A, have a schematic of the wire harness for the factory radio
B, know how to wire in a new radio
C, know the guy that cut the harness out of my truck so I can punch him in the mouth?
D, All of thee above?

Thanks
Lost somewhere between the dash and seat of my 250screw

2003 F-250 Super Duty Super Crew
6.0
Stock
200,+++ and counting

NMRA Open Comp

2 racing season of pulling under it's belt!
CRATUS is offline  
post #2 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 05:47 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRATUS View Post
So Im just settling into my new ride,
finally got the wife to decide on a head unit since the truck didn't come with a radio.

Lucky for me the previous owner cut the plug.... (WHAT!!!)

So now I have a GOB of wires to deal with,
So I began looking at the harness that came with the radio and after doing some Google searches thought I had a grasp on the situation.

the bad is the radio didn't work once I wired everything up, so checked fuses all good....

then I noticed I have some wires left over,
a red with a black stripe and maybe 1 or 2 more.

Does anyone either,

A, have a schematic of the wire harness for the factory radio
B, know how to wire in a new radio
C, know the guy that cut the harness out of my truck so I can punch him in the mouth?
D, All of thee above?

Thanks
Lost somewhere between the dash and seat of my 250screw


What other 2 wires are left?

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
CRATUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not sure, I should have wrote them down...

I hate fixing other peoples brain farts! LOL

2003 F-250 Super Duty Super Crew
6.0
Stock
200,+++ and counting

NMRA Open Comp

2 racing season of pulling under it's belt!
CRATUS is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 05:58 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRATUS View Post
not sure, I should have wrote them down...

I hate fixing other peoples brain farts! LOL
Ok. Try this link and see if it helps you out. If you get it hooked up and working but you lose your memory on the radio when shut off, you have the yellow and red wires reversed.
Car Stereo Head Unit Wiring Harness

And if you have to you can go here. Will cost a little money but will definately have the info.
ALLDATAdiy.com :: Leading Source of Diagnostic and Repair Information

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 06:21 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
CRATUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
one is a red with black stripe
one solid pink
one is black (Thought it was ground but ground is black with green (or vise versa) )

2003 F-250 Super Duty Super Crew
6.0
Stock
200,+++ and counting

NMRA Open Comp

2 racing season of pulling under it's belt!
CRATUS is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 06:29 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRATUS View Post
one is a red with black stripe
one solid pink
one is black (Thought it was ground but ground is black with green (or vise versa) )
I'm looking for ya

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 06:30 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
CRATUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^ thanks!!!!!!!!!!!

I need all the help I can get!!!!!

2003 F-250 Super Duty Super Crew
6.0
Stock
200,+++ and counting

NMRA Open Comp

2 racing season of pulling under it's belt!
CRATUS is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 06:34 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Do you have a test light?

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 06:40 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
CRATUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes I do.........

2003 F-250 Super Duty Super Crew
6.0
Stock
200,+++ and counting

NMRA Open Comp

2 racing season of pulling under it's belt!
CRATUS is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 03-16-2011, 06:42 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The black wire and the black w/green stripe are ground. One has to do with it being an Excursion with rear controls.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome