CB Antenna? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 05:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question CB Antenna?

Should i go with a 5ft fiberglass Wilson or the 5.5ft fiberglass Francis? My CB is a Cobra 29 GTL.

Thanks, Barron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-17-2011, 03:03 PM

CB Antena

I have been driving truck over the road for almost 6 years now and I have figured something out in that time. There is no one antenna that is going to work for everyone. First thing you will need to do I install your radio in the truck. Make sure to have a good ground. Run your coax to where the antenna is going to be and go from there. A good rule of thumb to get the best out of your radio is never go shorter than 9 foot and always use increments of 9 feet. If you measure and need 21 feet you should really get a 27 foot piece. Also the best sound will come from a piece of coax with very lox ohms. I have always made my coax at 5ohms or less. You should also never coil extra coax in the truck. If you make a coil you need to take a zip tie and bring the middle together to make it look like a bowtie. Coiled coax that is in a circle will act as an antenna.

Not for your antenna I would say look at the Francis antenna's They are cheaper and most of the rest and hold up good. You could also look at a wilson or firestik adjustable fiberglass antenna. This will allow you to adjust the SWR's and get you to a clean and clear sound.

I am running a Stryker SR-490HP with 18 feet of coax and a Monkey Made MM9 Antenna. But not everyone wants a CB radio that is good to talk up to 35miles. Also not everyone is willing to drop $600 on just a cb setup.