alpine iva w205 questions help!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 02-25-2011, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
06lariat4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
alpine iva w205 questions help!!

hey guys so i have an alpine iva w205 in my o4 and i dont have the two yellow wires hooked up for the brakes. i cant change any settings besides audio. no visual and cant change the clock on it.

By not havin the two wires hooked up is that why i cant change those features?

which wires do i tap into for the park brake and foot brake in my truck? dont have the money for the bypass and dont need to watch vids while driving.

please help!!!


2004 F350 CC/LB Dually XLT
ARP Head Studs
BD Power EGR Delete
4 inch cat back, cat delete with FLO PRO muffler
PPE Xcelerator Programmer (currently not installed)
MSD Dashhawk Moniter
DIY Coolant filter with Fleetrite W2077 filter
Fleetrite ELC Coolant
6.4 Banjo Bolts
"blue" fuel regulator spring
06lariat4x4 is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 02-26-2011, 07:24 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
06lariat4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
come on guys somebody has to know!!


2004 F350 CC/LB Dually XLT
ARP Head Studs
BD Power EGR Delete
4 inch cat back, cat delete with FLO PRO muffler
PPE Xcelerator Programmer (currently not installed)
MSD Dashhawk Moniter
DIY Coolant filter with Fleetrite W2077 filter
Fleetrite ELC Coolant
6.4 Banjo Bolts
"blue" fuel regulator spring
06lariat4x4 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-19-2011, 05:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jluv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 224
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great head unit.

Yes, not having those wires hooked up is what's causing your issue. For safety, Alpine designed the radio so that if you are not parked, you can't watch video or get very far into the settings. The theory there is that you'll get too distracted and smash someone. The yellow wires wire into the foot brake and parking brake to let the head unit know when you're parked.

Of course, that's super lame. You should bypass this with a PAC-TR7. It's a little box that you wire in that will allow everything to work fine while you're driving down the road. It's inexpensive, easy to install, and comes already programmed out of the box ready to work with your Alpine head unit.

I will say that I've installed several of the TR7s, and I've had a couple that were bad. Just a heads up that if you wire it up and it doesn't work, it may be a dud. Save your receipt.
jluv is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-19-2011, 05:47 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,973
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I'll second the PAC-TR7. It's about $20 on ebay and well worth it. I don't watch movies on my IVA-W505, but if I had to do the sequence that Alpine requires every time I wanted to change a setting or use the GPS I would have switched brands. IIRC the sequence is step on foot brake, set park brake, release park brake, set park brake, release foot brake.

JSchuricht is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-06-2011, 03:34 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
newie11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hello there,
I used to have the 205 in my truck as well until some a**hole broke in and stole it. The way I hooked mine up was the wire that goes to the brake I hooked up as normal, then instead of buying the TR7 I bought a two dollar toggle switch at autozone and hooked the parking break wire to it. Then you push the break flip the switch twice and there ya go! simple and cheap! Just remember to ground the toggle switch so that way the circuit opens and closes.
newie11 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome