Help me soon! High voltage HID question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:46 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Larose, LA
Posts: 536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
High voltage HID question - fixed thanks - very simple

I'm in the process of installing the retro solutions bixenon projector retrofit kit, and like a *&^* idiot I accidentally cut the wires between the ballast and bulb!

I have my headlights apart and I need to get this situation figured out before tonight because I need to go to work tomorrow.

What's the best way to reconnect these lines? Just power and ground, but as I've learned, a butt connector just fries right up.

Stupid question, but would simply stripping the wires, twisting them together, and electrical tape work the best until I can completely re-do this?

Last edited by teameyecatcher; 12-30-2010 at 05:28 AM. Reason: Fixed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:51 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,329
Thanks: 5
Thanked 84 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by teameyecatcher View Post
I'm in the process of installing the retro solutions bixenon projector retrofit kit, and like a *&^* idiot I accidentally cut the wires between the ballast and bulb!

I have my headlights apart and I need to get this situation figured out before tonight because I need to go to work tomorrow.

What's the best way to reconnect these lines? Just power and ground, but as I've learned, a butt connector just fries right up.

Stupid question, but would simply stripping the wires, twisting them together, and electrical tape work the best until I can completely re-do this?
Put your factory bulbs back in so you have head lights and then you need to solder and shrink wrap the wires that you cut.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:13 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Larose, LA
Posts: 536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Actually your post reminded me that I have a soldering gun and shrink wrap out back. I am going to give it a shot, but basically this is my last chance without purchasing another projector.

IF I go back after soldering and the light doesnt come on - in your experience, would it be a burned ballast or would the fuse go first? I had heard frying when I stupidly tried a butt connector (which had burns after undoing), so I'm afraid the whole thing is shot anyway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:15 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,329
Thanks: 5
Thanked 84 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by teameyecatcher View Post
Actually your post reminded me that I have a soldering gun and shrink wrap out back. I am going to give it a shot, but basically this is my last chance without purchasing another projector.

IF I go back after soldering and the light doesnt come on - in your experience, would it be a burned ballast or would the fuse go first? I had heard frying when I stupidly tried a butt connector (which had burns after undoing), so I'm afraid the whole thing is shot anyway.
I'm not sure, I would think the ballast since the fuse is before where you cut. Why did you cut anything at all?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:25 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ballast does go first
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:25 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Larose, LA
Posts: 536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I don't have a good excuse besides being an idiot. I was rushing the job and had cut the wrong set of leads.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:29 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Larose, LA
Posts: 536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97ps5spd View Post
ballast does go first

In that case I'm not too worried as well. I can always get another ballast, but my main concern was sealing the headlamp back together and having that out the way. Then I can resolder another ballast to the projector.

Thanks for the input guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:30 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,329
Thanks: 5
Thanked 84 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by teameyecatcher View Post
I don't have a good excuse besides being an idiot. I was rushing the job and had cut the wrong set of leads.
At least you owned up to it. Mine had wires that said you could cut or leave in tact. I just left them alone. Do you HAVE to CUT something on that kit to make work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:34 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Larose, LA
Posts: 536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Actually, yes. The H13 kit had connections that had to be cut off. Hard to explain, but the guys at the shop were very helpful in explaining it to me. However, I got the wrong end.....

What I was supposed to cut off was the connection to the factory headlight harness. This particular kit didnt come with one that directly plugged in, so I had to cut the low, high, and ground wire and splice to the factory harness.

At least I got that right in retrospect....so far! I seem to be having trouble with the high beams as well. With the one working headlight, it wont come on when I throw the switch. That may be a problem for another day!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:41 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Larose, LA
Posts: 536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Oh Hallelujah! The soldering worked! I cant believe I didnt even think about that. Chalk up another one to the idiot card
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors