Overhead Console Computer Display Dead. Fix? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 09-22-2010, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SHOWOFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Overhead Console Computer Display Dead. Fix?

My overhead console computer Display died tonight. What do you guys suggest? I dont want to buy a new one for 200 dollars from Ford. I saw a service on ebay that fixes them for 29.99. Anyone try this? You send them your old one, and they fix it. What do you all think?

2014 F250 Plati
SEMA 2K15
Krazy Nikel

SHOWOFF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-22-2010, 06:18 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOWOFF View Post
My overhead console computer Display died tonight. What do you guys suggest? I dont want to buy a new one for 200 dollars from Ford. I saw a service on ebay that fixes them for 29.99. Anyone try this? You send them your old one, and they fix it. What do you all think?
Here you go. Overhead computer Fix - Easy and it works

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-22-2010, 08:31 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SHOWOFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Wow!!! Thank you for that post!! I just looked and 2 off my chips were hanging off! I am gonna fix them tommorrow and I'll let you know if that fixes it! Thanks for the help!

2014 F250 Plati
SEMA 2K15
Krazy Nikel

SHOWOFF is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-23-2010, 06:12 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOWOFF View Post
Wow!!! Thank you for that post!! I just looked and 2 off my chips were hanging off! I am gonna fix them tommorrow and I'll let you know if that fixes it! Thanks for the help!
No problem

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 06:38 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SHOWOFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Soldered the chips in last night, plugged it in and BAM! It works!! Thanks for saving me money!!!

2014 F250 Plati
SEMA 2K15
Krazy Nikel

SHOWOFF is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-24-2010, 01:43 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOWOFF View Post
Soldered the chips in last night, plugged it in and BAM! It works!! Thanks for saving me money!!!
No problem bud. Glad it worked for ya.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-16-2010, 06:31 PM
Member
 
TheHarleyMan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I noticed my compass read out would cycle through the different readings. Then it worked right, then it started to work right when it wanted to, then it quit working all together. I removed the overhead console down and removed the board and found that one of the relay, (680), was loose. I took a soldering pen and a screw driver and used the screw driver to press down gently on the relay, (680), I then took the soldering pen and just put the tip with a little pressure on the end of the relay and saw that the soldier was melting a bit under the relay from the edge of the relay. I then lifted the soldiering pen. Took my circuit board and plugged it in to see if it worked and it didn't. So I then repeated the process for all the relays.

Now it works, but it is going back to cycling back and forth like it did before it quit all together through N, W, S, E, SE, NE, SW, NE, NW, etc.

Is there something else that would cause the circuit board to cycle through the discription above without the truck moving? I didn't see any responses about this in the posted link.
TheHarleyMan2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome