Upfitter switch - ground source? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2010, 07:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Upfitter switch - ground source?

Is there a way to make ONE of the upfitter switches a ground source instead of a power source? Tried searching the forum and googling it, but no results.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-22-2010, 07:22 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa Bay area
Posts: 714
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to A8050266 Send a message via MSN to A8050266 Send a message via Yahoo to A8050266
Quote:
Originally Posted by ..::ryan::.. View Post
Is there a way to make ONE of the upfitter switches a ground source instead of a power source? Tried searching the forum and googling it, but no results.
YES,
hook up a standard bosch SPST relay to it
85 goes to the upfitter output switch
86 goes to ground
30 is your source ground input
87 is your ground output (this is your switched ground)
87a is not used.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-22-2010, 07:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Wouldn't a regular 4 wire relay do the same thing since 87a wouldn't be used, thus remove it from the picture altogether?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-22-2010, 08:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,342
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes a 4 wire relay is fine.

Don't get a 3 wire relay because you cant switch the ground on it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors