Upfitter switch - ground source? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 06-22-2010, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
..::ryan::..'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Upfitter switch - ground source?

Is there a way to make ONE of the upfitter switches a ground source instead of a power source? Tried searching the forum and googling it, but no results.
..::ryan::.. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-22-2010, 08:22 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 
A8050266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa Bay area
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to A8050266 Send a message via MSN to A8050266 Send a message via Yahoo to A8050266
Quote:
Originally Posted by ..::ryan::.. View Post
Is there a way to make ONE of the upfitter switches a ground source instead of a power source? Tried searching the forum and googling it, but no results.
YES,
hook up a standard bosch SPST relay to it
85 goes to the upfitter output switch
86 goes to ground
30 is your source ground input
87 is your ground output (this is your switched ground)
87a is not used.

-=Sam

813.390.0040 / Sales, engineering, and floor sweeping. (mostly the sweeping)

2015 F350 CC FX4/Lariot SWD Platinum white
A8050266 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-22-2010, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
..::ryan::..'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Wouldn't a regular 4 wire relay do the same thing since 87a wouldn't be used, thus remove it from the picture altogether?
..::ryan::.. is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-22-2010, 09:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
GregsSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes a 4 wire relay is fine.

Don't get a 3 wire relay because you cant switch the ground on it.

2005 F-250 CC/SB 4x4 medium wedgewood blue

5" lift, 5" Donahoe rear springs, 35x13.50 Extreme A/T's, 18x10 Ultra Predator wheels, 4.30 gears, Banks 4" exhaust, Airraid intake, SCT from Innovative, ARP headstuds, Bulletproof ficm, Scangauge II, Randy Ellis Design lightbar, Street Scene flares, Harpoon mod, Zoodad mod, LED 2010 taillights, dual color LED front turn signals, Pioneer avic-D3 with ipod and backup cams
GregsSD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome