Oh No Static!!!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:41 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Leesburg
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation Oh No Static!!!!!

Hello friends and fellow PSD owners, I just finished installing my new pioneer head unit and installed New 6*8 door speakers last week. They are 260watt max speakers and the max wattage that the head unit puts out is 50watts. Unfortunatley I am having a problem with major static when I crank the volume a little bit (vol. 15)! If you have any suggestions please throw them at me ASAP, im eager to get my truck put back together and on the road. Another note is the fact that it makes more static when it is a bass note or hitting harder....!! Please Help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:49 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cranford
Posts: 1,153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do you have an amp?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:51 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cranford
Posts: 1,153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How did you connect the wires? did you rewire everything? what ground did you use when you put the new HU in?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:54 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockton
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
same problem

I have the same problem with no amp. Not enough power to the speakers?
IDK makes sense to me. interested in an answer. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:56 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cranford
Posts: 1,153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Alpine headunits ask to use a different ground then stock reason is those stock grounds are not good enought for a aftermarket headunit. And if it was not enought power to the speakers it wouldnt get worse as you turned up the volume.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:57 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cranford
Posts: 1,153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As he turns a up the volume the ground is needed more so if the ground is bad static could occur
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-24-2010, 03:01 PM
WNY Biodiesel Co-op
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orchard Park New York
Posts: 854
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
nIs it alternator whine? If so put in a noise suppressor for about 15 bucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-24-2010, 03:03 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cranford
Posts: 1,153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats why I asked if he had an amp....Because then it probably would be the alternator
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-24-2010, 03:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Leesburg
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No I dont have an amp, It is the pioneer AVHP3200dvd head unit, and i used the stock ground....Sorry for the slow response had to eat dinner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-24-2010, 03:16 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cranford
Posts: 1,153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its all good, I would pull the HU out and use a good solid ground. Also make sure none of your wires are bare or touching anything tape them up good and check everything before you put it back in so you dont have to take it in and out. Also does it get worse as you drive faster?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors