2006 upfitter question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2010, 04:22 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 3,837
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2006 upfitter question

2006 XLT that has the pigtail behind the cubby. can i buy just the switches or do i need everything else too? i think it should be like the brake controller i put in, the pigtail was there and i just hooked it up and it was gtg. am i wrong?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-2010, 03:48 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 3,837
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
anyone?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-13-2010, 11:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,821
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My 06 came with the brake controller but not the upfitters. I had to order the entire kit. powerstrokeshop had it pretty cheap, I think even cheaper than ebay. The actual controller for the upfitters mounts inside the passenger side glove box. Drop that glovebox down out of there, the controller is mounted up inside on the top. I doubt you have it though.

It's a great mod and well worth the money. High idle definitely lowers my warm up times in the winter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:52 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 3,837
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well i know the wiring pigtail is behind my cubby because when i pulled it out to wire up my aftermarket brake controller i saw it.

what i dont know is if i need all the rest of the stuff that you get with one of those kits or if i can just get the switches.

i want to hook my high idle up and would also like to wire up some extra lights in the rear of the truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-14-2010, 12:15 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 3,837
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews


still looking for some insight
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-14-2010, 01:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,821
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well it was all one giant wiring kit, it plugs into the fuse panel under the steering wheel. The controller mounts up in the glove box, the wiring runs the full length of the dash, there is a pig tail by where the upfitters go, then the wiring continuse to the fuse panel and there is a ground wire in there too. It's all one giant assembly. I dont know why you would have the entire wiring assembly and not the simple upfitter switch assembly. Look in the passenger side glove box where I said it's mounted to make sure it's there. Are you sure that pigtail wasn't supposed to go to the OEM brake controller?

I could probably snap some pics of my setup if you would like?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-14-2010, 03:53 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 3,837
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdub707 View Post
Well it was all one giant wiring kit, it plugs into the fuse panel under the steering wheel. The controller mounts up in the glove box, the wiring runs the full length of the dash, there is a pig tail by where the upfitters go, then the wiring continuse to the fuse panel and there is a ground wire in there too. It's all one giant assembly. I dont know why you would have the entire wiring assembly and not the simple upfitter switch assembly. Look in the passenger side glove box where I said it's mounted to make sure it's there. Are you sure that pigtail wasn't supposed to go to the OEM brake controller?

I could probably snap some pics of my setup if you would like?
no its not for the brake controller, im sure of that as i used the other pigtail for the brake controller.

im not sure why the wire would be there and not the switches either which is why im looking for info before i go out and buy anything.

pics would be awesome and i'll be sure to check behind the glovebox this weekend.


thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-14-2010, 07:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,821
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I would check the glovebox first, that will be the tell-tale if you have the correct wiring setup or not.

Check out this link, this should help you out...

Ford Upfitter Switches & High Idle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-16-2010, 12:17 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 3,837
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well i looked behind the passenger glovebox and didnt see the fuze panel.

just really bugs me what that other connector behind the cubby is for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-16-2010, 01:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,821
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablos30 View Post
well i looked behind the passenger glovebox and didnt see the fuze panel.

just really bugs me what that other connector behind the cubby is for.
Can you trace it and see where it goes? Maybe snap a pic of it...

That is weird, I cant think of anything else that is really supposed to be there!?

Just to clarify, when you pull the glove box out and pop the sides so it falls right out of the way, the fuse panel is up in the top of the glove compartment bolted to the "ceiling" of the compartment if you will.

I ended up buying my wiring and switches from powerstrokeshop.com they had the whole deal for I think $98.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors