steering controls+nav h/u????? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2009, 03:43 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
steering controls+nav h/u?????

does anyone have a how to on installing the module for steering controls with a avic d3?

i know its the "pac" module but im looking for someone who has installed it on the trucks.

thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have an '06 and installed an Avic-F700bt. I bought the PAC unit and followed the intstructions that came with the kit. It took a couple minutes to install and another couple minutes to program, but worked on the first try. There's really nothing to it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-29-2009, 02:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Sins4u33
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj_allen View Post
I have an '06 and installed an Avic-F700bt. I bought the PAC unit and followed the intstructions that came with the kit. It took a couple minutes to install and another couple minutes to program, but worked on the first try. There's really nothing to it.
solid snake and i live next to each other, only thing bothering me is what wire to splice into on the truck, i have seen a picture somewhere but for the life of me i cant find it now...

cj_allen if you could snap a picture or do a write up, it would greatly help the both of install this unit into our truck, solidsnake has a pioneer unit and i have a kenwood unit, i hve look at the directions on the website and they make sense but i don't know where to splice if you get what i mean.

I also haven't physically opened the package i got from PAC yet, maybe ill take a sneak peak at there directions to figure it out tonight. damn this cold weather!

Ben Y
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-29-2009, 03:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Sins4u33
found this running thru pac-audio's website

Pac-audio.com Steering Wheel Interface | iPod Integration for your car and More by Pac-Audio - Connecting you to the future

Ben Y
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-30-2009, 07:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just looked up my paperwork from the install and I have the same exact diagram showing "pin 18" is the wire to splice. On the back of the Pioneer, there is a dedicated "remote" wire that is green I believe, that you hook to the pac unit. It's clearly labled. Good luck guys. I installed my nav unit w/ xm, bluetooth, and steering wheel Pac unit in about 3 hours. It's not that bad.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Sins4u33
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj_allen View Post
I just looked up my paperwork from the install and I have the same exact diagram showing "pin 18" is the wire to splice. On the back of the Pioneer, there is a dedicated "remote" wire that is green I believe, that you hook to the pac unit. It's clearly labled. Good luck guys. I installed my nav unit w/ xm, bluetooth, and steering wheel Pac unit in about 3 hours. It's not that bad.
yeah we ended up installing the unit the other night and got everything straightened up. the swi jack is kinda confusing at first, as i didnt understand all the flashes and etc, but it only took about 5-10 minutes after reading the directions again and again. here are some pics of the after math.



and my start up load screen is this



Ben Y
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:45 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
easy install for anyone thats never done it. hardest part was the freezing temps outside and getting the soldering iron to work! cake from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Looks like it turned out nice. I kinda wish I would have went with the Kenwood instead of the Pioneer. I have had problems with the unit from the get go. I have to pull it out and send it back to Pioneer AGAIN! Last time they sent me the wrong one back.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-01-2010, 06:26 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj_allen View Post
Looks like it turned out nice. I kinda wish I would have went with the Kenwood instead of the Pioneer. I have had problems with the unit from the get go. I have to pull it out and send it back to Pioneer AGAIN! Last time they sent me the wrong one back.

what problems have you been having?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-05-2010, 02:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Everything from the bluetooth not reponding or being able to adjust the volume during calls to only getting mono sound out of my ipod. The first unit that I had, the screen blacked out and was totally useless. I sent it to Pioneer to be repaired and they sent me somebody elses head unit back that was older than mine. The siad they'll give me a new one, but damn it's a pain to keep taking these things out and putting them back in. The second unit is a little better, but not much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors