05 F350 takes a while for drive or reverse to engage. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2014, 11:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: No, Ill
Posts: 746
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
05 F350 takes a while for drive or reverse to engage.

An 05 F350 with 6x,xxx miles recently started taking a while to engage drive and reverse. It only does it sometimes. It also shifts really hard into 2nd and really sloppy into 3rd. Otherwise the truck runs great. I changed trans filters and fluid after it started acting up. The other day the tow haul light started flashing but my Modis couldn't pull the code. What should I look for?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-23-2014, 12:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,023
Thanks: 15
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What fluid did you put in?

2005 F350 CCLB FX4
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-23-2014, 01:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: No, Ill
Posts: 746
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I used the factory fluid from Ford.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-23-2014, 03:32 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,294
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Need to have the code pulled
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-23-2014, 08:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: No, Ill
Posts: 746
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, when I hooked up the scanner it beeped and turned on like always, but when it came to reading codes it said there was no communication with the vehicle. The dealer didn't find anything either. Idk where to go from here.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-23-2014, 08:49 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,294
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Cig lighter have power?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-23-2014, 09:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: bel air, maryland
Posts: 1,999
Thanks: 4
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
look into the line pressure control solenoid.. i had wrote a little bit ago and bumped another thread on this problem.. i had the same symptoms thinking my tranny was going south.... replaced this solenoid and now my tranny is like new(i did this replacement a couple months ago). there is also a tsb on this issue(delay in shifting) from ford. hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-23-2014, 09:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: No, Ill
Posts: 746
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Last time I checked, it did have power. Also, my scanner will not power on if there's no power tonhe obd port, there's just no communication with the control modules I guess. Let me do some research on that, thanks for the input.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-23-2014, 09:11 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,294
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
What scanner did you use?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-23-2014, 09:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: No, Ill
Posts: 746
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm using a Snap-On Modis.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors