torque converter lockd up? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 06-14-2012, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
torque converter lockd up?

04 f350 6.0
slams in gear (r or D) and if foot on brake it dies
feels like converter locked and wont release?
anyway to test tc 'node?
engine off in r or d i can turn driveshaft so if feels like a tc pressure issue
no codes or flashing lights
zzamud is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 06-15-2012, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New converter. Still same
zzamud is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-15-2012, 07:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,900
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Y unplugging wires to trans when running. Then put in gear. Don't drive or try to drive it like this but u can see if it still dies. Then u will know the tc s still bing old to lock thru a bad wire or PCM

2008 6.4 f250 lariat 4wd
melmount is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-16-2012, 01:30 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unpluged wires. Still same. Still locks when put n reverse
zzamud is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-16-2012, 02:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,900
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The converter is staying locked. That's why it's stalling when put in gear

2008 6.4 f250 lariat 4wd
melmount is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-16-2012, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes i understand that. Trying to figure out why. I know what node it is but how to test it? Have snap on solis pro acanner and reads no codes n trans?
zzamud is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-10-2014, 07:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What did you find was the problem? Was it defective oil pump?
jessejames1996 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome