torque converter lockd up? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2012, 05:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
torque converter lockd up?

04 f350 6.0
slams in gear (r or D) and if foot on brake it dies
feels like converter locked and wont release?
anyway to test tc 'node?
engine off in r or d i can turn driveshaft so if feels like a tc pressure issue
no codes or flashing lights
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-15-2012, 07:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New converter. Still same
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-15-2012, 07:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,691
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Y unplugging wires to trans when running. Then put in gear. Don't drive or try to drive it like this but u can see if it still dies. Then u will know the tc s still bing old to lock thru a bad wire or PCM
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-16-2012, 01:30 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unpluged wires. Still same. Still locks when put n reverse
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-16-2012, 02:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,691
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The converter is staying locked. That's why it's stalling when put in gear
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-16-2012, 02:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes i understand that. Trying to figure out why. I know what node it is but how to test it? Have snap on solis pro acanner and reads no codes n trans?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-10-2014, 07:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What did you find was the problem? Was it defective oil pump?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors