HELP Torque converter lockup - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2010, 07:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tempe AZ
Posts: 1,025
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
HELP Torque converter lockup

Help torque converter lockup

I do not think my torque converter lockup is working how does one know ?

Can not feel or see a drop in RPMs for a 5th change, the 1 to 2, the 2 to 3, the 3 to 4 and the 4 to 5(OD) can see the RPMs drop.

Do not see the torque converter tighten up any time in any of the gears, always has a 600 and more RPM from cruse to getting off of the throttle when driving ( no brakes applied ) and same when back on the throttle to put some more power on ( not to the point of down shifting ).

I would think the lockup would have a tighter range in RPM in either down or up.

Help, is there a wire that one could splice into and run to a LED that would light when the lockup is on ? Location and color / tracer.

THANKS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-2010, 09:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tempe AZ
Posts: 1,025
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselFord View Post
Help torque converter lockup

I do not think my torque converter lockup is working how does one know ?

Can not feel or see a drop in RPMs for a 5th change, the 1 to 2, the 2 to 3, the 3 to 4 and the 4 to 5(OD) can see the RPMs drop.

Do not see the torque converter tighten up any time in any of the gears, always has a 600 and more RPM from cruse to getting off of the throttle when driving ( no brakes applied ) and same when back on the throttle to put some more power on ( not to the point of down shifting ).

I would think the lockup would have a tighter range in RPM in either down or up.

Help, is there a wire that one could splice into and run to a LED that would light when the lockup is on ? Location and color / tracer.

THANKS
The truck is a 2007 PSD, 40,000+
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-21-2011, 06:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 415
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
with my 07 the lock up is very noticeable right when I hit 50-55 the converter locks and rpms go to 1.5k and im at about 2k rpms at 70mph.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors