Bad Sending Unit ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2010, 07:52 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: ParkRapids
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bad Sending Unit ?

My girlfriend was driving my truck today and i git a call, she said that the tranny temp gauge on the dash was pegged out. I asked her a couple of questions and had her bring up the tranny temp on the EDGE display and she said it was at zero. I went to her work and checked the fluid level and cleared the codes( PO713) and let her drive it home. When she got home, about 8 miles down the road the temp on the dash gauge was pegged again, but the edge seemed to be stuck on 101. I crawled under the truck and grabbed both trann lines. One was about 1oo and the other was cold. Do i have a bad sending unit? The edge should read off of the same unit, why would one be hot and one be cold ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-11-2010, 08:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews


... i'm curious now too

plugged tranny cooler? but I don't know why the edge and the gauge would disagree...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-12-2010, 05:25 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: ParkRapids
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont think its the cooler, the pan and the lines felt normal. The fluid was good and smells fine. I think its something electrical. Does anybody know what the sending unit is supposed to ohm out at ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-12-2010, 08:08 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: ParkRapids
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anybody know what the sending unit is supposed to ohm out at ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-12-2010, 08:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 3,398
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The tranny gauge on the dash is a pos. It never reads right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-12-2010, 08:46 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: ParkRapids
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know, but it shouldn't be pegged on hot with the check gauges light on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-12-2010, 09:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendive MT.
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to goXtreme Send a message via MSN to goXtreme
Hell, I am impressed that she was looking at the guage, you might want to keep her!!

My wife barely notices the fuel guage, she actually told me that she didnt know what any of the thingys on the dash were for, she thought that they were there to fill up space.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-12-2010, 09:11 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: ParkRapids
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
goXtreme,

thats too bad ! I feel sorry for your truck !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-12-2010, 11:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendive MT.
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to goXtreme Send a message via MSN to goXtreme
Quote:
Originally Posted by doubleduty View Post
goXtreme,

thats too bad ! I feel sorry for your truck !
Sorry, I should have specified that she dont drive my tuck, this is in her 96 explorer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-12-2010, 01:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The temp sending unit is in the pan and can be changed by itself. Ford has plenty in stock. They fail a lot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors