EGR/FICM Who knows issues...(revisited) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2009, 03:53 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
EGR/FICM Who knows issues...(revisited)

Howdy,

I originally posted this on an engine 911, but (right now) its not really a 911 and I haven't had any responses to my queries so so I figured I'd repost the deal here...

Have an 06 6.0 w/83K on it. I'm a trail contractor by trade and tow 5K-10K loads all over Colorado, Wyoming, and the Dakotas. Egr failed catastrophically towing on the road last month. I won't mention the fun we had getting the truck, trailer, and equipment towed in... Dealer replaced EGR valve & cooler, head gaskets and heads checked o.k.

Ran fine another 1000K... 2 weeks ago it started hiccuping/missing and puffing the blue/white smoke on short drives to and from the job site but runs fine after 15 minutes or so. Took it back in and they replaced the FICM and found a code on the fan clutch so they replace that too. They say the injectors and egr tested fine but they did not test it on a cold start. Ran fine for one day. Now hiccuping and puffing again til 1st drive of the day is done unless I let it sit for more than about 4 hours. My hunch is injector(s) but it also may need a reflash? Two nights ago I plugged in the block heater overnight (even though the lows are high 40's, 50's) just for the hell of it and it ran great yesterday morning so I did it again last night. THis morning it hiccupped just a bit but didn't blow any smoke... It's scheduled for the dealer again on Wednesday. Any opinions on my hunches would be appreciated

The rub is, I live by this rig. I've got a bid to get to in Colorado Tuesday (tomorrow) but the dealer here can't get me in til Wed. Is it safe to drive 500 miles with this going on?