tired to load tunes, truck wont start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2009, 04:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chillicothe, OH
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
tired to load tunes, truck wont start

I recently purchases a used Xcal 2 SCT programmer off of ebay. I was trying out some of the free tunes from spartan diesel I found on this website. Once I loaded the tunes the truck would not start. It won't even crank. Where the mileage is for the odometer, there are dashes now. I tried to reinstall the stock programming, but it still does the same thing. I tried resetting the SCT and even wastes an unlock, but it does the same thing. I get no errors while trying to load the tunes. Please help....

oh and the tuner says it is unable to read the engine codes...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:35 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,804
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Free to keep it at the top for one of the techs. The only thing I know is that you have to get the SCT 'unlocked' before you can load tunes, but I'm not sure what the symtoms are if you don't get that done. SCT is a vendor, maybe give them a shout, or wait for somebody to point you in the right direction

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chillicothe, OH
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
it's unlocked.... and I have sent the SCT vendor's an email...
I am kinda scared that the tune I tried to use was corrupt and it fried my PCM...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-14-2009, 06:03 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,804
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
There was a guy on here just a couple weeks ago that had the same issue. I don't know what ever cam of it though. I'll try and find it, and post a link here
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-14-2009, 06:06 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,804
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Found it 06 F-350 wont even turn over
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-14-2009, 06:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chillicothe, OH
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
thanks... sounds just like my problem.... I really hope I don't have to buy a new PCM
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-14-2009, 06:22 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,804
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Try going to a bone yard for one, maybe you can get a decent price on one
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-14-2009, 06:28 AM
SCT SCT is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpb424 View Post
it's unlocked.... and I have sent the SCT vendor's an email...
I am kinda scared that the tune I tried to use was corrupt and it fried my PCM...
Your email was received and responded to.

We've had several occurances like this from using free tunes. Prime example why it's just better to pay for a custom tune.

As stated in the email, give us a call when you have the truck, tuner, and an internet connection available. We may be able to at least get your truck running. You probably locked up the tuner, but the truck there is a small chance we can save. If it were the newer X3 model you would have better odds. The X2 is old and doesn't have the same technology as the X3s.

Either way, call us and we'll do everything we can to help. 866-297-6298
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors