another 6 liter code p2285 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-02-2009, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
another 6 liter code p2285

i know it probably been asked many times,but code 2285,2286.
i have changed the icp ,regulator,icp sensor.the connector has already been changed.
using all data,going by the steps , i have checked for short ,open and ground in the harness ,told me to change the sensor,regulator,and the last step was to replace the pcm.nothing changed ,the 2285 code keeps coming up. where do i manually check the high pressure oil?under the oil filter? the scanner shows around 1100 psi at idle,and it should be 500 ish.
so far,and many hours,still where i began.the truck is a 03 f250,and of course ,a 6 liter
the truck idles,but will not rev at wot,it stays at idle.the code is 2285,and says nothing about the accelerator.
please help!
aaron47 is offline  
post #2 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i still haven't figured it out.A friend checked it out,called the diesel shop foreman at ford.found out there is a plug at the BACK of the high pressure oil pump,how to get to the plug on a f250 i don't know.
also to test the high pressure pump, the foreman said to ramp up the high pressure pump pressure on the scanner.The scanner iam using (genisis), i couldn't find that option.may be a dealer scanner thing.
aaron47 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 12:38 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
m-chan68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What is your ICP volts reading at key-on/engine-off? Is it between 0.18 to 0.25 volts? Can you access IPR duty cycle on your scanner? It should be expressed as %. If so, you should be able to command a higher duty %, to see how the engine behaves.

http://www.yorkdaleford.com/service.html

Ford Diesel/Senior/Master Tech who placed 2nd overall in Ontario on the Fix-It-Right-First-Visit score for 2010

....who works at a dealership that now employs SOME half decent looking female employees since they overhauled most of the administrative staff

....but STILL loves hot women with big boobies

....and STILL hates working on E-Series with 6.0L
m-chan68 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the last time i checked ,the icp volts were at zero,i can see the ipr duty cycle on the scanner.this is the first 6 liter i worked on,i have lots of experience on 7.3 and international 444
aaron47 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 05:40 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
m-chan68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If ICP volts are at 0, you have an open circuit. Typically with 2003 model years, an ICP sensor (Ford part number 3C3Z-9F838-EA) and pigtail connector (Ford part number 5C3Z-12224-A) fixes the issue. Oil usually leaks through the sensor itself and damages the connector. An oil leak would also appear at the bottom between the engine and transmission bellhousing.

http://www.yorkdaleford.com/service.html

Ford Diesel/Senior/Master Tech who placed 2nd overall in Ontario on the Fix-It-Right-First-Visit score for 2010

....who works at a dealership that now employs SOME half decent looking female employees since they overhauled most of the administrative staff

....but STILL loves hot women with big boobies

....and STILL hates working on E-Series with 6.0L
m-chan68 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the ipr get the signal from the pcm,?right?i have checked the harness.we got a USED pcm,and it came with throttle position sensor codes in it.we could have gotten a bad pcm?
i changed the sensor and regulator weren't leaking,the all data trouble shooting led to it.the pigtail had been changed,but not by me,probably the recall

Last edited by aaron47; 04-04-2009 at 05:54 PM.
aaron47 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 06:03 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
m-chan68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You would be wasting your time and money by "trying" a PCM. Based on my experience with 6.0L engines so far, I have replaced NO PCMs out of the hundreds I've wrenched on so far. There are three wires to your ICP sensor. They are coloured brown with a white stripe, dark blue with a light green stripe, and grey with a red stripe. Check for continiuity between those three wires on the sensor and pin number 25 of the PCM connector for the grey with red striped wire, pin number 29 of the PCM connector for the dark blue with light green striped wire, and pin number 'D' of the EGR valve five wire connector for the brown with white striped wire. To access the ICP sensor requires removal of the heat shield at the back of the engine, under the turbo secured by two 10mm bolts and one 13mm bolt behind the driver side exhaust up-pipe. Once removed, you will see a heat shield around the sensor at the top of the high pressure oil pump cover.

http://www.yorkdaleford.com/service.html

Ford Diesel/Senior/Master Tech who placed 2nd overall in Ontario on the Fix-It-Right-First-Visit score for 2010

....who works at a dealership that now employs SOME half decent looking female employees since they overhauled most of the administrative staff

....but STILL loves hot women with big boobies

....and STILL hates working on E-Series with 6.0L
m-chan68 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 06:08 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
m-chan68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay, after rereading your first post, I should think that you should double check your wiring connections, since you mention you replaced the connector as well. Based on the information you have given that you are getting ICP volts reading of 0 at key-on/engine-off when you SHOULD be getting between 0.18 to 0.25 volts, I suspect you have an open circuit in one of the three that I've listed above for you to check.

http://www.yorkdaleford.com/service.html

Ford Diesel/Senior/Master Tech who placed 2nd overall in Ontario on the Fix-It-Right-First-Visit score for 2010

....who works at a dealership that now employs SOME half decent looking female employees since they overhauled most of the administrative staff

....but STILL loves hot women with big boobies

....and STILL hates working on E-Series with 6.0L
m-chan68 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 06:08 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
all data led to changing the pcm.ok THANKS for the information,i'll try that monday when i go back to work.and i have changed the sensor and regulator,and what a great place for them to be!
aaron47 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-04-2009, 06:16 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
m-chan68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron47 View Post
the ipr get the signal from the pcm,?right?i have checked the harness.we got a USED pcm,and it came with throttle position sensor codes in it.we could have gotten a bad pcm?
i changed the sensor and regulator weren't leaking,the all data trouble shooting led to it.the pigtail had been changed,but not by me,probably the recall
Some really early 2003 models were equipped with an EGR throttle plate, while most 2003 models were not. The donor PCM you have is likely from a vehicle that was equipped with the EGR throttle plate.

http://www.yorkdaleford.com/service.html

Ford Diesel/Senior/Master Tech who placed 2nd overall in Ontario on the Fix-It-Right-First-Visit score for 2010

....who works at a dealership that now employs SOME half decent looking female employees since they overhauled most of the administrative staff

....but STILL loves hot women with big boobies

....and STILL hates working on E-Series with 6.0L
m-chan68 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome