Injector Help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2014, 12:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Injector Help

I am looking at buying a 2003 Excursion with the 6.0L Powerstroke in it. This will be my first diesel, so I am an extreme newbie on this. I had it checked out by the local Ford dealership and they found that 1, 2, 3, and 8 injectors failed the power balance test. When I talked to the small dealership that has it, they said they have it in their shop and 1 and 3 were bad. They are going to fix these, but said that 2 and 8 were fine. What are the chances that the Ford dealership's scan was incorrect? I don't want to buy a new vehicle and have to replace injectors right away. Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-17-2014, 01:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Injector Help

I just talked to the dealer and they are not replacing the injectors. They told me they just weren't seated well. Has anyone heard of this?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Last edited by camaro_fanatic2003; 07-17-2014 at 03:25 PM.
Old 07-19-2014, 06:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

nope. if they aren't seated well you will have big problems. not a miss, your truck will start running off of oil that is seeping past the O-rings. have them show you the scan of the power balance. it should give you a pretty straight line. when injectors start dropping, you can see it very clearly.
Old 07-19-2014, 08:10 PM