Confused about HPO air test... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2014, 05:01 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Confused about HPO air test...

I'm pretty new to Powerstrokes and could use a little clarification if someone would be so kind. I am working on a '04 6.0L that was mfd. in 8/03. I cannot seem to find an illustration, or air test procedure that fits this engine exactly. There seems to have been a lot of design changes around '03-05. The main issue is: starts fine cold, and when the ECT reaches 123 degrees it starts missing, then the warmer it gets the worse it runs, eventually stalls and won't restart until cool again. I have an air fitting in the left HPO manifold and I am ready to air test. I just need to know how to close the IPR valve. I have the AutoEnginuity software with the Ford module. Is there a way to energize the IPR with that? Would simply turning the key on do it? Or do I need to run jumper wires to the valve itself? If so, which wires do I tap into? There are five. Thanks in advance for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-18-2014, 05:35 PM
Premium Member

JPotts says he has had the IPR with just the ignition on. That may be true, but I haven't tried it. I have closed mine with 12v power and also with the AE when doing air tests. Select the IPR to 90% or higher, that works for sure, assuming the IPR is good.

If you run a tap, with the key on, the yellow/red wire needs to be grounded. Since you have AE, you have no need to do it this way.
Old 06-18-2014, 05:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie