Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

FICM questions

4K views 10 replies 2 participants last post by  soliphant 
#1 ·
I have a few ficm questions as im new to diesels, first off the previous owner of my truck said he bought a replacement ficm from international but never mentioned if it was programmed/ flashed to the truck. Next I keep getting a dtc code for low ficm voltage checked my batteries both are at 12.7 without draw, I am going to get them load tested shortly. I checked the voltage output of the ficm staying at 48V through all ranges, if my ficm did have low voltage would that not change the amount of output it has? Secondly I am going to pull it and check the harnesses but I wanted to know if I could use some dielectric grease on the plugs? Is there any correlation between any of this or is the truck just having problems communicated due to it not being programmed?

Truck runs perfectly fine had a bit of a rough idle but a new icp sensor fixed that.

Anyway thanks in advance:thumb:

#2 ·
The ficm is one of the systems that you wanna reeley make sure is healthy and happy. The volts should never drop below 46v. Ever. From first start to warmed up. This can get to be real hard on your injectors and your pocket book.
I would pull both batt's and have them tested . If one is found sick replace them both. As far as the grease goes I don't see were it could hurt,but Im sure someone has a horror story when a buddy used it and the trucks am/fm radio wouldn't tell the correct time ever again type of story....
Also check out the Big 3 upgrade.

#3 ·
Will do plan on towing this weekend so I definitelt dont want to get stuck somewhere. I figure a little grease in there might help keep the connections clean and maybe a little tighter. What is the big 3 upgrade?

#7 ·