high pressure oil pump 04 6.0 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2008, 09:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
high pressure oil pump 04 6.0

i have an 04 powerstroke6.0, which was running horribly rough so i put it in the ford shop and they changed the ICP sensor(cost $840) and then not even a month later it quit on me on the interstate, so i took it back and they wanted 2900 to change the high pressure oil pump. so i said no, and took it home. I am going to change this myself, i was a deisel mechanic in the oil field for 5 years, so it should be pretty easy, I was just wondering if anybody has any tips or suggestions, or possible problems to be aware of before i tear into it. any help is greatly appreciated.
THANKS
DEAN
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-26-2008, 09:52 AM
Powerstroke Techie

If you are inexperienced, this is NOT a job you should attempt yourself. What is the build date of the vehicle? Is this an '04 with an '03 engine (ICP sensor at the back, under the turbo), or a late-build '04 with an '04 engine (ICP sensor on the passenger side valve cover)? If it is an '04 with an '03 engine in it, it is a ROYAL pain-in-the-*** job. The reason for this, is because '03 engines have a crossover at the back of the intake that forces its removal to access the high pressure oil pump. This is not to mention to one 10mm bolt at the back of the turbo, unique to '03 engines, that is extremely awkward to remove. If it's up there in mileage, you will need a torch to heat up the mounting boss side of the turbo, just to be able to crack it loose. Doing so, requires working in "blind man's alley", if you know what I mean.
Old 10-26-2008, 10:18 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie