Icp reading 0v - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
Serving Our Country!

 
Bluedemon6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to Bluedemon6.0
Icp reading 0v

I have a buddy of mine that has an 04 ex with a 03 build date. The Icp reads 870 psi and the reads 0v all the time but the truck runs fine, even with the Icp disconnected. The Ipr reads normal around 25%and moves with more rpm. Does he have a wire problem. He replaced Icp sensor already and the only code is p2285 which is the Icp. Any suggestions? Thanks.

-Steven

New!! 2015 Mustang ecoboost!!

Sold!!

formally owned:04 6L PSD CCSB
Studs
Egr delete
S&b intake
New dashboss with fuel pressure and egt
Sct Looney by Vivian and Tonywildman xtreme early lock up now php 140x
63.5/88mm 06 turbo with a pmax billet WW2
PHP Atlas 80


My baby-
87 jeep wrangler
350 and 700r4 built by mad dawg transmission
Dyno @ 200hp and 400ftlb at 3100 rpm
On 33s
Bluedemon6.0 is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 07:10 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 143 Times in 135 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Is the ICP sensor under the turbo on his? If so, did he replace the pigtail also?

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
Serving Our Country!

 
Bluedemon6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to Bluedemon6.0
No did not replace the pigtail but it looks like that is the next step we cut back the insulation and checked for a wire break at the splice but no dice. Can I check for voltage at the plug? I think it is funny it drives fine with the Icp disconnected just throws a code. Thanks for the input.

-Steven

New!! 2015 Mustang ecoboost!!

Sold!!

formally owned:04 6L PSD CCSB
Studs
Egr delete
S&b intake
New dashboss with fuel pressure and egt
Sct Looney by Vivian and Tonywildman xtreme early lock up now php 140x
63.5/88mm 06 turbo with a pmax billet WW2
PHP Atlas 80


My baby-
87 jeep wrangler
350 and 700r4 built by mad dawg transmission
Dyno @ 200hp and 400ftlb at 3100 rpm
On 33s
Bluedemon6.0 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Serving Our Country!

 
Bluedemon6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to Bluedemon6.0
Yes the icp is under the turbo.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

-Steven

New!! 2015 Mustang ecoboost!!

Sold!!

formally owned:04 6L PSD CCSB
Studs
Egr delete
S&b intake
New dashboss with fuel pressure and egt
Sct Looney by Vivian and Tonywildman xtreme early lock up now php 140x
63.5/88mm 06 turbo with a pmax billet WW2
PHP Atlas 80


My baby-
87 jeep wrangler
350 and 700r4 built by mad dawg transmission
Dyno @ 200hp and 400ftlb at 3100 rpm
On 33s
Bluedemon6.0 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 07:22 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 143 Times in 135 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Just wondering if it was under the turbo because that style was known for leaking through the sensor and soaking the pigtail connector with oil. Not sure if that would cause it but anything is possible.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 08:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 4,222
Thanks: 1
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When the pcm see's no signal at all from the ICP it uses a default set of values to start.
It lies to itself, if the HP oil system actually has oil pressure it will continue to run.

I have actually known of people who have run it that way for up to a month until they could get a new sensor.


Lord I shall lead them to the water but I will not try to make them drink
dannyboy950 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to dannyboy950 For This Useful Post:
Bluedemon6.0 (12-29-2013)
post #7 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 10:27 PM Thread Starter
Serving Our Country!

 
Bluedemon6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to Bluedemon6.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyboy950 View Post
When the pcm see's no signal at all from the ICP it uses a default set of values to start.
It lies to itself, if the HP oil system actually has oil pressure it will continue to run.

I have actually known of people who have run it that way for up to a month until they could get a new sensor.
I learned something new, sweet. Thanks


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

-Steven

New!! 2015 Mustang ecoboost!!

Sold!!

formally owned:04 6L PSD CCSB
Studs
Egr delete
S&b intake
New dashboss with fuel pressure and egt
Sct Looney by Vivian and Tonywildman xtreme early lock up now php 140x
63.5/88mm 06 turbo with a pmax billet WW2
PHP Atlas 80


My baby-
87 jeep wrangler
350 and 700r4 built by mad dawg transmission
Dyno @ 200hp and 400ftlb at 3100 rpm
On 33s
Bluedemon6.0 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-30-2013, 02:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 4,222
Thanks: 1
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I do not recomend running like that but it will work. The icp trick was meant as field diagnostics trick


Lord I shall lead them to the water but I will not try to make them drink
dannyboy950 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-30-2013, 04:01 AM Thread Starter
Serving Our Country!

 
Bluedemon6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florence sc
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to Bluedemon6.0
We'll we shot the wires from the icp plug to the egr sensor so we know that 2 wires are good from the plug, then we shot from the Icp to the splice going to the ECM, so electrically the pigtail is good but we did not shoot from the icp to the ECM. My thoughts it is he bought the replacement part from autozone, and it is not compatible or is junk. He said he was going to get a new motor craft part (Icp) with a harness. A side note though we checked tousley prices last night and the harness was $50. That is seriously over priced for just a plug with three pins and three foot of wire. I'm in the wrong line of work. Thanks guys.

-Steven

New!! 2015 Mustang ecoboost!!

Sold!!

formally owned:04 6L PSD CCSB
Studs
Egr delete
S&b intake
New dashboss with fuel pressure and egt
Sct Looney by Vivian and Tonywildman xtreme early lock up now php 140x
63.5/88mm 06 turbo with a pmax billet WW2
PHP Atlas 80


My baby-
87 jeep wrangler
350 and 700r4 built by mad dawg transmission
Dyno @ 200hp and 400ftlb at 3100 rpm
On 33s
Bluedemon6.0 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome