Injectors? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2013, 11:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Injectors?

Hello Folks, I'm new to the forum and to my F-350 Super Duty. I recently bought a big boat and needed something that would tow it safely. I was looking at F-250's but came across an 2005, F-350 6.0L, dually with 40,000 miles on the clock.

I'm new to Diesel engines, but noticed that in the mornings, when the vehicle is cool that it spits and sputters for a few minutes before it starts to run smoothly. Once warm, it seems fine, although I thought I might get a little more pulling power.

I went by the dealership, and the young guy said INJECTOR going bad as if it were a well known issue. I asked him if he was going to write down the symptoms and he said no need. "You need one more new injectors".

Then he proceeded to tell me that the warranty I bought from them was all but worthless. Injectors were not covered.

He said that for $179 that they would diagnose it for me....

Not getting into the Warranty here, but my question is.... Is there an economical and reliable way to verify that I have a bad injector, without giving the Smug Service man $179??

There must be a way to plug this baby in, and run some tests to see which injector(s) is the culprit. I feel that I should be able to replace it myself, if I know which one is in need. (I've re-geared a Jeep, replaced rear main engine seals, and modified a few gear boxes). So long as I can find clear instructions, I can surely follow them.

So, who can point me to a way to determine which injector or injectors have gone bad? I suspect that a code reader alone won't do the job. I read somewhere that you can buy an interface for a reasonable price to plug in a laptop and determine which injector is bad.