Just acquired my first diesel 6.0 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2013, 06:18 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just acquired my first diesel 6.0

Hi, I'm a newbie to the diesel seen. Bought an 05 FX4 with the 6.0. Got a good deal on it and only 50mi later the bottom radiator popped off and spewed coolant and oil. After research I found that the oil cooler may be the failed part. I'm in the proses of changing to the Domain cooler and rebuilding the turbo.
The truck has 183k mi on it and had the EGR delete installed on it. You guys think that with this many miles, should all of the other 6.0 issues should have been addressed? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-25-2013, 06:24 PM
RollinEarly05...now

Feedback Score: 10 reviews
I'd recommend another OEM oil cooler myself. But I'd first try and flush as much of that crap out as possible. Also... Did the radiator break or did the oil cooler fail? Or both... Kinda confusing the way you worded it! Just because a 6.0 has 183k miles doesn't mean it's not prone to failures still... Does it have head studs? Upgraded dummyplugs and standpipes, STC HPOP fitting upgraded, turbo drain tube updated...
Old 09-25-2013, 06:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

That's the info I'm looking for. What should I be looking for as far as 6.0 upgrades and/or fixes for the factory over sites.
I'm pretty fluent with gas engines, but never really dealt with diesels. I'm definitely not scared to get in there and take care of anything that needs to be done. I guess I'm just looking for some info or maybe even a list of things I need to to look for.
Old 09-25-2013, 07:51 PM
RollinEarly05...now