6.0 rough idle/hesitation - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2013, 01:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 rough idle/hesitation

Hi I bought an 03 6.0 crew cab about a month ago from an auction, I am new to diesels. I did the balloon test and traced down a bad #2 injector I have replaced that and sent it to ford to have it reprogrammed. My issue before and after the injector and reprogram have been the same minus Obviously no more smoke from the bad injector. Fresh cold start in the morning idles pretty rough but if you let it run for a minute or 2 and shut it off and restart it it will idle and run perfect, but then when it gets to normal op temp or slightly before it will have a rough idle again and feel really doggy until you start to build boost while in boost it feels like it has normal power until you drop back out of boost. I have cleaned the egr and replaced the bad O-rings and no change. Suggestions please.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-09-2013, 06:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I have researched what I could but everyone with this issue has a hard start/no start issue, smoking, very random rough idle or sluggish, mine is the same everyday no issues with smoking or no start/hard start. Everything is great except for that issue.
Old 08-09-2013, 06:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Post some stats. Rough cold starts, rough cold idle, hesitation, all point to either weak or dying FICM (possibly caused by bad batteries, alternator, strategy, or combo), Injector stiction, or possibly even poor fuel pressure.
1) load test batteries individually for condition
2) test charging circuit
3) Test FICM voltage KOEO, during cranking, and KOER (cold)