Any ideas? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2013, 08:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any ideas?

I have some experience with 6.0's but I work mostly with Cummins and I picked up a very nice looking 6.0 from an insurance claim for a very good price, knowing it didn't run. Now everything electrical is working lights/ignition/etc. But when checking the fuel filter there was no fuel coming in, when trying to start it doesn't crank and just makes a steady whine. I heard there was a relay for the fuel pump but I can't seem to find it so I don't know whether it is the pump or the relay. Also my cousin told me that when replacing the starter they may have not shimned it would that explain the fuel? The fuses seem to be good aswell. Any ideas welcome thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-27-2013, 12:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

I think you have seperate problems going on.

I assume you mean the starter will not roll over the engine but will whine when key is turned. If that is the case the bendix is bad in the starter and is not throwing out and engageing the flywheel. As best I remember the 6.0 uses no shims.

Now for fuel just for referrence there are 2 fuel filters on a 6.0 one on the frame rail under the drivers door under the truck. this is also the fuelpump. The other is the smaller of the 2 houseings on top the motor. Which did you check?
Old 07-27-2013, 09:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyboy950 View Post
I think you have seperate problems going on.

I assume you mean the starter will not roll over the engine but will whine when key is turned. If that is the case the bendix is bad in the starter and is not throwing out and engageing the flywheel. As best I remember the 6.0 uses no shims.