FICM issue....what else is new - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2013, 10:49 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
FICM issue....what else is new

Hey guys.

I am new to the diesel world but am not new to Fords. Built a 67 Mustang with a forged 5.0, 5-speed conversion etc. A 2002 Mustang GT with a fully forged, balanced and blue printed Cobra motor with a turbo, and now how a 2004 6.0 Super Duty.

I bought the truck about 3 months ago and loved it. However I quickly noticed a lack of power, the engine stuttered, and finally the check engine lights. I looked up on this forum for help, actually trolled for the longest. Begun using 5w-40 synthetic, fuel filter change, oil filter change etc (which helped) as well as constantly having to plug in the block heater while at work and home. I am in Texas and need a block heater, in summer!! After reading the codes it became apparent that the FICM may be on it's way out.

Based on the reviews from several threads I contacted Ed@Ficmrepair.com. He responded quickly to my questions and concerns. I went a head an ordered the Premium FICM option with the Atlas 40. They shipped quick! I ordered Friday afternoon and it was on my doorstep on Monday!

I had the old FICM out and Eds installed within about 30 minutes. Started the truck up..and..........Smooth start, no check engine light and was immediately able to drive the truck. No hesitation, no issues, no problems. I could definitely tell the truck had more uumph to it.

I just had to give a shout out to Ed and wanted to let you guys know about my experience. I know I am new here, but looking forward to talkin more with you guys!! Might even need to post up some threads about my old builds...

Peace,

Aaron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-18-2013, 01:34 PM