FICM has 0 volts - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 07:27 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
FICM has 0 volts

Just bought this truck a week or so ago and seemed to run fine until I went to start it the other morning. No start at all turns over but will not start.
Batteries and Alt were replaced prior to me getting it along with a list of other things, so I thought I would check out some stuff before I have it towed checked fuses everything fine, did test FICM and it shows 0 volts I called the guys at BulletProof (very helpfull) he said to check a relay on the left fender I had one to swap out with it no change and still no volts at the FICM, Batteries show 12.4 volts each, any suggestions would be great trying to avoid towing in if possible I have an appointment set next week to have the oil cooler and egr delete installed and would like to drive it in.
skidoo88 is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 07:29 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need to say this is a 03 with 140,000 if that helps
skidoo88 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 08:54 AM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,715
Thanks: 57
Thanked 93 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
All plugs and connections look ok?

Truckless
Bulletproof Diesel www.bulletproofdiesel.com
1-A Auto Parts www.1aauto.com
Snake is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 09:33 AM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15,493
Thanks: 629
Thanked 761 Times in 728 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no volts like no input volts or output volts or both ??

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial
https://www.gofundme.com/2464axqr
We Miss you Ronnie
RIP
ZMANN is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 10:17 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes as far as I can tried to trace down wires looking for any rubbing etc and nothing jumped out at me
skidoo88 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm guessing the pin test is for output volts, I guess I would need to find out were the feed to the FICM is to see if there is power to it.
skidoo88 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 03:12 PM
Premium Member
 
backhoebill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atascadero, California
Posts: 726
Thanks: 87
Thanked 55 Times in 54 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to backhoebill
It's possible that one of the connectors may not be seated good on the bottom of the FICM. They are kind of difficult to get at, but you may have bounced one out while driving, especially if the locking clip is broken.

HTML Code:

'06 F250 4x4, 237,xxx hard miles, IPR egr delete and coolant filter, blue spring, billet wheel, 4" turbo back, Atlas 40, SCT Livewire, Archoil, Mobil 1 Synthetic, Cat elc, Warn bumper and 16.5 winch in front & aftermarket mystery bumper in rear, dent in floorboard under throttle
backhoebill is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 03:22 PM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15,493
Thanks: 629
Thanked 761 Times in 728 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by skidoo88 View Post
I'm guessing the pin test is for output volts, I guess I would need to find out were the feed to the FICM is to see if there is power to it.
yes it is the output

I thought you may be looking at a pid

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial
https://www.gofundme.com/2464axqr
We Miss you Ronnie
RIP
ZMANN is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-21-2013, 03:25 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
dxusmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Le Roy, NY
Posts: 533
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check connectors..when the FICM is installed, the harness closest to the front of the truck is the power supply/ECU harness. It's also the bigger of the 3. If it is clipped in, I'm not sure how to really test if its getting voltage without some sort of continuity light. IE: I don't know which pins you could probe with a multimeter.

2004 F250 XLT 6" lift, 37" tires, zoodad, T6,
edge cs, k&n, revx, warn lockers, rhino bars
future: coolant filter, headstuds, bluespring, 4" turboback, tires..dam these tires

Marines 2004-2009
Army 2009-2013


dxusmc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome