White Smoke After Collar Blew Off - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2013, 08:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
White Smoke After Collar Blew Off

2004 6.0 with 130,000 miles. I was pulling travel trailer uphill and heard a loud pop under the hood. Pulled over and found that the blue rubber collar had popped off the tube that comes from the turbo. I put it back on and drove another 5 miles to the camp. When I came to a stop I noticed white smoke pouring out the exhaust. Still seems to run fine and no warnings on the dash. Gauges read fine.

I bought this truck 3 weeks ago and this is the first Ford I've owned. I'm not a mechanic. I've seen the other posts regarding white smoke, but this seems a little different than the other situations. I appreciate any advice before I take it back to the dealer Monday. I've included a pic of the blue collar I referenced above.
White Smoke After Collar Blew Off-image.jpg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-31-2013, 08:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

is the smell sweet if so egr cooler with out a doubt.
Old 05-31-2013, 09:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I cranked it up to see how it smelled and its not doing it now. I'm still hooked up to trailer, but will drop it in the morning and take the truck for a spin to see if it does it again. If it is the EGR, will it hurt it to drive it?
Old 06-01-2013, 05:47 AM

If you drive it with a ruptured cooler your going to mix coolant with oil so yes. Keep a eye on your coolant bottle also for level change and oil mixing in it. If you have gauges or some thing like it keep your eyes on eigine oil temp and coolant temp
Old 06-01-2013, 07:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tatertot View Post