Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Hard start/extremely hard warm start.

1K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  fuzzman 
#1 ·
Ok, so I'm new here but I've done some lurking and reading I'm not a big Ford diesel guy I've been in the military for 6yrs and I'm a diesel mechanic with the Army so I have some general knowledge and some really useful tools.

2007 XLT crew cab 6.0L Auto-trans 153,xxx miles
So, here's the issue...I bought the truck a little over a month ago and when I went to buy it they said it hadn't been started in a while, so when we went to start it; the truck has a very hard start with some excess smoke which didn't seem off if it hadn't been started in a while. When I took the truck down the road it sputtered and jerked and acted a fool till it was warm about 10 minutes of Ohio winter driving, then it cleared up and ran fine! Since I purchased the truck its the same thing warms up and its fine...I tested the FICM and i get a constant 48v with koeoff and cranking test. Now yesterday I took my truck into work, and put it on the lift changed the oil and the fuel filter/separator filter. And, while I was looking just to see if I had any random oil leaks or anything I should be concerned with, on the drivers side where the engine meets the trans I found oil residue. I also plugged the truck up to our Solus Pro. and got a P2291

So, my question is, can all of these problems be caused by the STC fitting or do you think there are other underlying causes? The truck currently has no mods,no programmer, nothing changed from factory except usual wear and tear items.

See less See more
#2 ·