Replaced hpop, still won't start hot - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 07:41 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Replaced hpop, still won't start hot

Hi all,

First off let me say that I'm no expert on powerstrokes. I know more about cummins in dodges. With that said, I did some work on an '04 f250 that a used car lot sold to a guy. He had trouble with it not starting hot, so they (the car lot) had it "diagnosed" at a local truck performance shop. They said it needed the hpop replaced, and they also mentioned something about a screen getting sucked into the pump. A buddy and I ended up with the job, so we put a reman pump in there. While we were at it, we replaced the discharge pipe that goes from the pump to the back of the engine, and the IPR. I saw no screen that could have been getting sucked into the pump. I wasn't real impressed with the fact that they didn't note on their shop ticket that the oil was both very dirty and almost 2 quarts low. Before I touched the truck, I had the car lot change the oil, and I stressed to them that they must use 15w40 diesel oil. Obviously, this did not fix the problem.

Long story short, it still won't start hot. You have to get it thoroughly warmed up before it fails to start, but it still does it. So, while it wouldn't start, we unplugged the oil pressure sensor near the front of the passenger side valve cover. It would then start. We plugged the sensor back in-no start. So, we replaced the sensor. STILL no start when hot.

We do not possess a scan tool that will read oil rail pressure. I believe that's part of our trouble here-we really aren't equipped to diagnose this truck very well, but the car lot that's footing the bill told us that the "real" shop diagnosed the trouble as being the hpop.