help please no start 6.0 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: circleville ut
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
help please no start 6.0

hey guys I need a little help here please I have a late 04 I just did my oil cooler egr delete new dummy plugs and stand pipes I got her running but it wouldn't idle so I took it to the dealer and they told me my motor was junk so brought her home and found the lpop was bad so I changed that and the housing but she still wont run. I have a scangauge 2 and my ipr is at 84 and its new my icp will sometimes get to 300 max so I am lost maybe its a high pressure oil leak still if so where could it be or what should I do next thanks for any info
dj.oneil is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 06:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
strokethis1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wyoming
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check ur ficm unit bro
strokethis1121 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 07:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 4,222
Thanks: 1
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It takes 500 psi hp oil pressure min. to start. you may have a bad ICP sensor or a hp oil leak of some kind. Try unplugging the ICP sensor and try to restart.


Lord I shall lead them to the water but I will not try to make them drink
dannyboy950 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: circleville ut
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have done both unplugged icp nothing ficm 48.5 volts while cranking where else could I have a hp oil leak at I am lost on this one
dj.oneil is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 08:08 PM
WWW.COMPIGNTECH.COM

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9,370
Thanks: 98
Thanked 103 Times in 82 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj.oneil View Post
hey guys I need a little help here please I have a late 04 I just did my oil cooler egr delete new dummy plugs and stand pipes I got her running but it wouldn't idle so I took it to the dealer and they told me my motor was junk so brought her home and found the lpop was bad so I changed that and the housing but she still wont run. I have a scangauge 2 and my ipr is at 84 and its new my icp will sometimes get to 300 max so I am lost maybe its a high pressure oil leak still if so where could it be or what should I do next thanks for any info
You have a HPO leak or weak pump. You need to do the air pressure leak test or start replacing the dummy plugs and stand pipes and try again. If it still fails to build ICP than you would need to check your pump and IPR out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by strokethis1121 View Post
check ur ficm unit bro
A FICM won't cause low HPO. He has a HPO leak as stated with the IPR staying at 84-85% and the ICP staying less than 500 psi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyboy950 View Post
It takes 500 psi hp oil pressure min. to start. you may have a bad ICP sensor or a hp oil leak of some kind. Try unplugging the ICP sensor and try to restart.
^^ This.

l BRYAN l


WWW. COMPIGNTECH .COM

Look us up on Facebook
COMPRESSION IGNITION TECHNOLOGIES

l 2005 l Ford F250 l FTX l
[A Few Odds-N-Ends]

Tuscany is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: circleville ut
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I figured I have a high pressure oil leak but I cant seem to find it with the air test I have done both dummy plugs and stand pipes new hpop I just pulled one of the dummy plugs to and both nylon rings have a angled split in them I don't recall seeing that when I replaced them so now I am wondering if the dealer swapped them on me so with me finding that I guess I will do another pressure test in the morning on it thanks for the help guys
dj.oneil is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 08:25 PM
WWW.COMPIGNTECH.COM

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9,370
Thanks: 98
Thanked 103 Times in 82 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
That is how the new updated standpipes and dummy plugs are. The nylon washer is to aid in the o-rings maintaining longevity.

When you were doing the air leak test were you commanding the IPR valve shut while pumping air pressure into the rails? You have to close the IPR valve or plug the port with a threaded plug in order to perform this test properly.

l BRYAN l


WWW. COMPIGNTECH .COM

Look us up on Facebook
COMPRESSION IGNITION TECHNOLOGIES

l 2005 l Ford F250 l FTX l
[A Few Odds-N-Ends]

Tuscany is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: circleville ut
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok thanks i didn't recall seeing the split in them. yes i hooked two wires to the ipr but before i could here it click and now i don't here it.so maybe i will see if i can find a plug of it then i wouldn't need to hurry and listen for the leak correct
dj.oneil is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 08:38 PM
WWW.COMPIGNTECH.COM

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9,370
Thanks: 98
Thanked 103 Times in 82 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
If you have another IPR valve try swapping it in and seeing if that fixes the problem. Sometimes junk goes through them and causes them to stick open and not allow HPO to build up.

l BRYAN l


WWW. COMPIGNTECH .COM

Look us up on Facebook
COMPRESSION IGNITION TECHNOLOGIES

l 2005 l Ford F250 l FTX l
[A Few Odds-N-Ends]

Tuscany is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-13-2013, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: circleville ut
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok i will try that good idea i still have the old one that's still good thanks for the info this poor truck has been down way to long and have already spent close to 8 grand on it and cant afford any more. thanks again for the info
dj.oneil is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome