how do you replace a cam sensor and - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 01-10-2008, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: lavaca
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how do you replace a cam sensor and

crank sensor on a 6.0? any body know?

tia
Stroker23 is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 01-11-2008, 02:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
crank position sensor or camshaft position sensor?
projectrang is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-11-2008, 02:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
npccpartsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gods Country/Home
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 22
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
These are basically bulletproof. Why are you replacing either one? Did you have a long crank to start and the PCM threw a code? You should really look somewhere else before you replace either one.

FYI--they are just held to the block with one retaining bolt I believe, but they very very rarely go bad.

I Bleed Razorback Red

Ford Makes It, International Shakes It, Casserly Fuels It, KC Turbo Spools It, SCT Tunes It, and Trucks Unlimited keeps her Rockin the Road
npccpartsman is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-11-2008, 02:20 PM
Jon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Yes

8mm bolt on each. Very rare to have one give a problem other then the orings leaking. Very common though to throw a code for them when other things are happening.
post #5 of 5 Old 01-11-2008, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: lavaca
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i sank it awhile back--it was sputtering above 2000 rpms so i assumed it was mass air flow but codes said it was crank and cam sensors--so i attempting to remove cam shaft sensor and put it back in as i had to pick up kids from school--well the truck rund perfect no but engine light is still on....does it have to be cleared for light to go out?
Stroker23 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome