Help please - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 07:01 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Help please

I've read almost every post about no start issues on the 6.0 but still can't figure out why my normally great running '06 F250 PSD won't start. FICM had low voltage so it's been replaced. ICP showed zero so I unplugged it and got 1600+ psi. Replaced ICP sensor and I get 40-55psi cranking now. I read about IPR causing no start but don't know what that is. Where is it located and how bad is it to change? HPOP or STC fitting on pump? It's a stock truck. Thanks! I'm a diesel newb and appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2013, 07:20 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Re: Help please

Your IPR is in the HPOP cover, under the turbo on the driver's side of the engine. It has a foil heat shield cover on it. It can be replaced with the turbo on. If the screen on the end of it is torn you will also need to go into the HPOP reservoir and check that screen for damage. If not you run the risk of your HPOP sending a chunk of something into your new IPR.

You can also have a high pressure oil leak at a stand pipe or dummy plug which are in the oil rails under the valve covers. You can also have a bad STC fitting which is on the HPOP.

What is your mileage and has there been any major work recently?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Old 03-04-2013, 02:56 AM

Sargar, It's got 152,000 miles. No major work. Oil and filter changed 1,000 miles ago. Drove it all day then next time it started and died immediately three times and ain't hit once since. It's really been running great with no issues at all. Only codes I get are number 3&5 glow plugs with check engine light. Still it had been starting ok. Thanks!
Old 03-04-2013, 05:37 AM
Premium Member