6.0 Not running right - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 07:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 Not running right

Hello my name is Chad and I am a newbie. Sorry for long the story that is about to go down haha. So here is what has happened. My dad owns a 04 F350 4X4. It has the early 03-04 6.0. For a while now we have experienced issue with it "missing" and not firing up smoothly. After running some marvel mystery oil in the fuel and replacing the glow plugs it was working really well!

The problem starts just a few days after we got it running well. My dad goes to get fuel one morning and the truck dies a block from the station. Further inspection showed that he had got extreme contaminated fuel, like 30 gals equaled 20 gallons of water. The stations insurance paid for it to be "fixed". It was towed to the Ford dealer where they said they pulled the tank and flushed everything out. They ended up replacing number 2 and 4 injector and the FCM. My dad got the truck back and it still didnt work like it did before. I failed to mention he had bought the truck only two months before all this. My dad concluded that they must have reflashed the computer and took out a program from the previous owner that made it run better.