White smoke then hydrolocked HELP - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 12:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
White smoke then hydrolocked HELP

First off I'm new to the diesels. I have an 05 6.0 with 114k. Motor is pretty much stock besides AEM cold air and has a superchips programmer and straight pipe that's it performance wise. My truck is lifted on 37s it ran great very strong it would smoke the 37s no problem even when I didn't try to. Now here is my problem I started losing coolant slowly so I just kept it topped off then started blowing a puff of white smoke only when I started it up. So I started researching and from all the forums I came to the conclusion of egr cooler. So I pulled the egr it was a little damp but not bad so I cleaned it and the truck was fine for two days then went to start it and move it across the yard and it turned over for about 4 seconds and stopped. I researched again and found it was hydrolocked. Pulled the egr valve again and the intake was full of coolant. Yesterday I pulled all the glow plugs and turned it over to blow the coolant out. So now I'm going to order an egr delete but I am wondering if I need to do anything else after I install it or just put it on and drive like I said I'm new to the diesel but can't find anyone on here with my same story so if there is anything else I need jus please let me know because I want to do it right so I don't have to worry about egr problems again. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-24-2012, 12:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Send a message via Skype™ to kendallcschm