some random problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 04:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
some random problems

Ok first off im new to owning a diesel... been reading a ton of info but could use some help. maybe in person if anyone lives around the lansdale, pa area and would be willing.

I bought an 03 f350 a couple months ago. Got a tuner off a friend and decided i should do studs and an egr delete before i tuned it. So i coughed up the money and purchased a kit from xdp with head gaskets arp suds, egr delete, oil cooler. installed and seemed to run good. also pcv mod and blue spring.

Problems: seems to run a little rough hot/cold sometimes, some times long crank other times real short hot/ cold, some surging (like at steady throttle it will all a sudden gain power), sometimes seems to have a miss under like half throttle heavy acceleration... only for like a couple light misses then takes off and seems to be ok for awhile., gas mileage seems to slowly fall beat on it mileage went up then slowly dropped off(computer).

Only things i noticed while i had it apart were the screen before hpop part of it was gone and i replaced with new one, and second was either the icp or ipr connector i cant remember the insulation was partial melt off. I fixed with heat shrink.

Put delco 15w-40 in it bc thats all i could get at time, drained some and added hot shot. plan on putting shell t6 in next. has about 4k since studs, also been using xdp fuel additive,
no smoking, or check engine light

I dont have to tools to run monitors and it seems like it could be anything. any help would be great.

Last edited by mx13w; 12-18-2012 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-18-2012, 08:06 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews