Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

What just happened??? Please Help

2K views 16 replies 5 participants last post by  05F350Lariat 
#1 · (Edited)
I've been working on my truck for a few weeks now. A couple broken parts that I've had to wait on and I'm a fulltime college student has slowed progress a bit. My original project was rebuilding the oil cooler, flushing the coolant system and adding EC-1 coolant, and replacing the injectors with a set of 175cc 30% from Renegade Diesel. I also added a new mean green alternator since the stock unit was on it's way out and to protect the new injectors I did the blue spring upgrade and installed a fs2500 oil bypass filter.

After an issue with batteries I got the truck started two weekends ago. Everything looked and sounded good till I found an oil leak from the oil filter housing assembly area. I figured I had damaged a gasket so I ordered a new set. The next weekend I tore it down to replace the gaskets and when it was all back together figured out the leak was coming from a crack in the oil filter housing assembly. So I ordered a new one and waited another week.

That brings me to today. I tore it all down again and replaced the cracked part. After everything was back together she started up after about 12-15 seconds of cranking. There was no leaking oil and everything sounded good. I only had water in the coolant and after about a half hour of idling and with the ECT and EOT in the 150's I decided to take her for a short drive. Only made it a few feet down the road before I blew the intake hose off the intake. Got her back in the drive way and tightened everything down again. Started her up again and still everything looked good. Now here's where everything went wrong.