Head job, low oil pressure on dash cluster - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2012, 02:45 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unhappy Head job, low oil pressure on dash cluster

Hey need some help !!! Just got done with heads, new stand pipes, dummy plugs,all thats needed. Truck fired up pretty quick running fine then up pops this low oil pressure on the cluster. I then noticed that the oil dummy pressure on the dash is no working. Shut her down checked to make sure I was getting oil in the filter housing. Seems to fill quick with button down and stayed till I released it. Checked to make sure I plugged in. Don't know what to do now. I drove it and she seems fine. So long story short I need to get to Mi to pick up a tractor. Lot going on Started to head out got about 50 miles down the road and the truck started skipping beats. So pulled over ICP was good, so I took back out then ICP dropped started skipping again So we pulled over shut her down again. Starts right back up but this time took a flatbed back home. Truck run 10 times better with blown headgaskets never skipped a beat. Whats up !!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-12-2012, 03:14 PM
Vintage Nakamichi Powered
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elk Grove, California
Posts: 1,338
Thanks: 9
Thanked 35 Times in 32 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Take a look at the IPR screen and see if it has junk piled up from the head gasket job.
Doesn't take much even cloth from wiping down intake hpop reservoir tears up those IPR sreens.
Pretty common after oil cooler work ect, lots of mechanics vacuum out before reassembly.
Worth taking a look, also just for fun make sure ICP is not leaking oil into plug pigtail.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-12-2012, 03:54 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did that today, put new screen and seals. last year I was coming from Tn. got about 125 miles out and was stranded with ICP failure cost me 1200 bucks. So ICP is fairly new. Did change pressure switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-12-2012, 03:57 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
also did the cooler and seals for turbo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors