Consistent Miss - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2012, 09:11 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Consistent Miss

So my truck is at the mechanics right now. It has a constant/consistent miss. I have searched long and hard and have not found a similar problems (lots of threads on missing but not like mine)

The truck starts up just fine and seems to idle ok (it is missing but is not running super rough). There is a constant poof of black smoke coming out the exhaust when that cylinder hits. It does not change at all whether the vehicle is warm or cold. It drives fine on the freeway but puffs out black smoke every time that cylinder hits (that makes for a smokey ride). No lights or codes

They took out the injector and put new o-rings on it and that did not help.

I am not a diesel mechanic so I am sure they said a lot of things to me that I did not understand. I believe they switched out the injector for the one next to it and it did not change anything. The same cylinder was still missing... But lets assume that did not happen because I could be wrong. I am going to go down there in a couple of hours and talk about the different options and I want to go in a little more educated when we start making decisions.

any ideas
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2012, 09:13 AM
Premium Member

Could be ficm, even if it is showing 48v.

Sent from my SCH-I500
Old 07-06-2012, 09:17 AM
Premium Member

would a ficm cause just one cylinder to miss like that? I will search really fast and learn everythign I can about the ficm... is there any other way to test the ficm if it is showing 48v?