P0263 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 11:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
P0263

start by saying this is a friends 2005 6.0 PSD and i guess you would say im just a back yard mechanic trying to help a friend out.

starts fine but has a miss, lack of power , will barely move , some times stalls.

he said it was idling rough on a cold start, then when driving became worse and could barely drive/move until it stalled . he let it sit for a minute or two while making some phone calls then cranked it numerous times. finaly she started and but still ran rough but he got it to my house and got a ride to work from my neighbor who also works at the same place.

Meanwhile NO CEL

i have a scanner and scanned it and had 6 codes

P0263 CYl 1 Contribution
p0266 Cyl 2 Cont
p0296 Cyl 3 cont
p2614 Cam position output
p2617 Crank position output
U1900 CAN Comunication

their was no freeze frame data either

so i cleared the codes and restarted the truck started and idled normal. its not until it really gets loaded down either wot pull or loading up the TQ converter(1st gear/BRK/GAS) that it starts to fail. it starts idling rough then gets worse and worse.

everything seems normal ICP was 6.9 MPa or 1000psi @ idle and when reving on it i saw as high as 23 MPa or 3300PSI. so the HPO system seems fine

the turbo was also working fine i could see VGT being demanded higher and lower. as boost came in while i could drive it. so no stuck vanes

the only code that returned when it started to run rough was p0263.

i also placed a amp clamp on all the injector harness feeds and all seemed relative to each other so i assume no FICM issues.

im assuming the cam and crank codes are no concern and are just from his extended/numerous cranking on the side of the road trying to get it to restart.