6.0 Turbo Flutter - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 08:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 Turbo Flutter

My 2004 6.0 EGR Cooler failed. Installed the EGR Delete kit. After putting the truck back together, I now am experiencing turbo flutter back through the intake on deceleration and no power. I drove the truck for a while and the flutter seemed to improve and power came back around slightly. Also when the truck is turned off you can hear turbo noise back through the intake for several seconds. I don't recall hearing this in the past. I'm assuming the water than ran through the exhaust due to the failed egr cooler has done something to the turbo. I'm relatively new to dealing with diesels so excuse me if I'm asking any dumb questions. Just trying to get ideas on what the problem may be before I waste my time hunting down the problem. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-24-2011, 08:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Send a message via Skype™ to 2003kingranch
KAM (keep-alive-memory) reset & VGT learn procedure

1. Drive the truck until the engine and transmission have reached normal operating temperature.
(The VGT learn procedure requires that the oil and coolant temperatures be at normal operating temperature)

2. Flash truck back to stock (Only need to do this if running a tuner or module)

3. Turn on the headlights

4. Disconnect both batteries

5. Short out + to - battery cables to each other (Make sure both batteries are disconnected before doing this).

6. Let truck sit like this for 10-minutes

7. Turn off the headlights.

8. Re-connect batteries