Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Replacing HPOP and IPR...anything else?

9K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  slmd95s10 
#1 ·
I am currently having the HPOP and IPR replaced and am wondering if I should have anything else looked at/ changed while it is torn down. Bare with me on this one as i am fairly new to the world of diesels :nod:

#2 ·
My question would be WHY are you replacing the HPOP?
The pump is not usually a failure point, but it is the fitting that connects the pump to the High Pressure Oil system (on the 05-up trucks) that IS a problem. The pump is over 600 bucks, the replacement fitting is 60 bucks.

#4 ·
Like I said above, the pump going out is rare.
The STC fitting that connects that pump to the rest of the high pressure oil system is a VERY VERY common failure. As a matter of fact, every 05-up truck will experience an STC fitting failure, it is just a matter of when.
Most of the pump failures are misdiagnosed fitting failures...just saying.

Before undertaking this repair, you should know the health of your oil cooler. If your temp delta is high, this would be the time to address that. (delta = temperature differential between coolant temp and oil temp)

#5 · (Edited)
What problems are you having. How did you diagnose the HPOP Problem. I had a hot start problem and changed STC fitting, Dummy plugs and Stand Pipes. Fixed my problem for less than $200. I had a Ford dealer tell me they didn't know what was going on with my truck BEFORE I fixed it myself. Don't always depend on someone else's word. I know someone else that has a hot start problem and a another dealer said it COULD be the FICM going out. Just my 2 cents :dunno:

#6 ·