ARP Head Bolts/Studs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2011, 12:47 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ARP Head Bolts/Studs

I'm new to this 6.0 diesel thing. Admittedly depressed to read all the bad news regarding the EGR and Oil Coolers. As if that is not bad enough, I have read references to ARP Head Bolts/Studs. What's the issue with OE bolts or studs? Can someone please explain this to me?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-05-2011, 01:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 7 reviews
The OE bolts are TTY (torque to yield) meaning they were designed to stretch to obtain maximum clamping ability. What happens is they tend to weaken, and continue to stretch when cylinder pressures are high, causing the heads to lift off the block and blowing combustion chamber gases into the cooling system-adding a tuner only exacerbates the situation.
Old 07-05-2011, 01:11 PM

Not knowing how the truck will be used in the future would you strongly recommend replacing with head bolts with ARP's at the same time I do the EGR and Oil coolers or wait and see if it possibly becomes an issue? Where do you find the ARP bolts? Approximately what should I expect to pay? How big of a job is it to get at them?
Thanks
Old 07-05-2011, 01:12 PM
Unapologetically American

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
IMHO studs are overrated in most cases. If the oil cooler plugs it starves the EGR cooler for coolant, and then it rutures, sending coolant directly into the cylinders. Liquids don't compress, therefore pushing out between the HG and block
Old 07-05-2011, 01:17 PM
The Silent Service

I also agree that studs aren't a requirement on these trucks. Tackle them once the coolers go south.