04 died while driving now wont start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
04 died while driving now wont start

Hi I have an 04 was driving on interstate at 75 MPH was running perfect just shut off now wont restart did get it started once but ran like crap and it shut off no idea where to start looking.... studs headgaskets oil cooler all new o rings on injectors and egr delete 700miles ago. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
oh I also have a power module that was on #5 setting at time it shut down I put it back stock still no luck
aomoore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 11:22 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
diablos30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 4,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
diablos30 is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 11:29 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The 1 time I did get it to start a whole bunch of white smoke came out smelled like fuel would the hoop cause this still. When cranking it does register on dash gauge
aomoore is offline  
post #4 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 11:31 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Check your FICM voltage. Needs to be at least 46v with key on and when cranking.
http://www.bscustoms.net/diesel/FICM.pdf

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 11:35 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what it did when my cam sensor went out on my 7.3 powerstroke
dbwega is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 11:37 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbwega View Post
Thats what it did when my cam sensor went out on my 7.3 powerstroke
Not saying it can't be that, but very uncommon on the 6.0

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks will try ficm. I didn't think the can or crank sensors were a problem on the 6.0s
aomoore is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok I removed secondary fuelfilter and cycled key it pumps fuel and alot of air looks like sudds almost this isn't right is it?
aomoore is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 02:08 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by aomoore View Post
Ok I removed secondary fuelfilter and cycled key it pumps fuel and alot of air looks like sudds almost this isn't right is it?
Do you have an adapter and gauge to check fuel pressure?

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 03-01-2011, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No I dont have a pressure gauge
aomoore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome