blue smoke on start up - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2011, 10:56 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
blue smoke on start up

i have a 2006 f350 4x4 6.0 auto 181k miles. im pretty new to diesels but not new to workin on trucks. just bought this one about a month ago. it smokes blue (oil burning) on cold start ups (winter in jersey about 10-40 degrees) i just recently noticed this when i started carpoolin with a buddy to work and i didnt drive it in a day. if i let it sit for a day or 2 it will smoke blue until i start drivin it and go away. truck runs great no other problems then the blue smoke. and it doesnt burn much if any oil, no loss on the dip stick. the truck was stock when it started doin this and now it has a airfilter, 4" exhaust, sct programmer. i noticed once i put the programmer on it smoked more. if i drive it everyday it hardly smokes if at all. im thinkin its some kind of o ring or something sticking any advice or help would be great.

thanks in advance
Brendon
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2011, 12:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Our trucks have a crank case ventilation routed directly back to the intake... If your truck sits for awhile the oil will sit in your intake and at the top of your heads.. That's more then likely the oil you are burning off.. No issues.. If you want it to stop check out stealth automotives CCV mod and it will cure this as long as saving your turbo too
Stephen
Old 02-03-2011, 12:38 PM

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Also, try reprogramming to the stock tune, the see if the smoke clears (punn intended) My mild performance tune causes more smoke on start up (man...keep your windows up when starting!)
Old 02-03-2011, 09:25 PM

ok thanks for the help i will try it this weekend and see if it works
Old 02-04-2011, 03:45 PM