06 F350 with coolant spraying from degas bottle - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2010, 08:58 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
06 F350 with coolant spraying from degas bottle

Hey all, newbie here. Just bought an '06 F350 PS, mint condition with 30k miles and bone stock. Clean carfax and OASIS. Read extensively here on the boards BEFORE i bought (thanks all!) and pretty sure I know the answer to my question but looking for opinions on timing.
Have put about 1000 miles on it and am now noticing coolant residue around degas bottle (spray.) Dont have any aftermarket gauges but haven't noticed any change in coolant temps-pretty much half way up. Bottle level is actually a little low cold.
From my reading, probably egr cooler/head gasket going, but haven't seen anything odd from the exhaust, yet.
Sooooo, do I get it right in (under warranty) now? Will they just go ahead and start taking it apart with just this issue? Will they check the oil cooler as well? If not, what should I tell them to convince them to look at everything?
Thanks in advance....
Mark

Last edited by doclouns; 12-26-2010 at 09:14 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-26-2010, 09:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

It doesnt need to be blowing white smoke to be official. The test procedure they use is floating around here somewhere but you should be good to go. If you take it in now Ford has a standard test for when they decide to replace the stuff. You do want to make sure they replace both the EGR and the oil cooler
Old 12-27-2010, 06:20 AM

Definitely take it in.

Typically, the test for blown head gaskets is a pressure reading taken off the degas bottle while driving. Anything over 16 psi is a good indicator they've failed.