p2291 help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 11-26-2010, 06:04 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
preston77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 160
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
p2291 help

I've recently started kicking a p2291 code. Back in July on my way to Daytona I noticed when I would stop for fuel or whatever it would be really hard to start back up and it has been like that since. Friday afternoon I drove about 15 miles to Walgreens and I couldn't get it to start back up. It finally fired up once the motor cooled down for a while. I've had the HPOP changed about 30,000 miles ago so I'm not thinking it could be that. From what I've read I'm leaning towards a ICP sensor, oil leak or something along those lines. I have noticed lately on the back of the motor around the bell housing area on the passenger side that there is a slight oil leak from up top running down. Is there another sensor on the back of the motor? If so should I be leaning towards that or look elsewhere? Thanks in advance!

preston77 is offline  
post #2 of 18 Old 11-26-2010, 08:51 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 
m-chan68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by preston77 View Post
I've recently started kicking a p2291 code. Back in July on my way to Daytona I noticed when I would stop for fuel or whatever it would be really hard to start back up and it has been like that since. Friday afternoon I drove about 15 miles to Walgreens and I couldn't get it to start back up. It finally fired up once the motor cooled down for a while. I've had the HPOP changed about 30,000 miles ago so I'm not thinking it could be that. From what I've read I'm leaning towards a ICP sensor, oil leak or something along those lines. I have noticed lately on the back of the motor around the bell housing area on the passenger side that there is a slight oil leak from up top running down. Is there another sensor on the back of the motor? If so should I be leaning towards that or look elsewhere? Thanks in advance!
Did you have the whole high pressure oil pump changed, or just the STC fitting? If it is the truck depicted in the photo, that looks like a 2005 to 2007 model year truck. That said, I wouldn't be surprised if going to your nearest local Ford dealer parts department and ordering a 6E7Z-9A332-B kit and installing it will fix the problem you are having. I'm almost 100% certain on that. If you're wondering what that kit consists of, it contains two updated dummy rail plugs and standpipes to both banks of cylinders, along with the green o-ring for the air inlet breather tube. The updated parts now have a white teflon o-ring that reinforces the rubber d-rings to prevent a future failure.

http://www.yorkdaleford.com/service.html

Ford Diesel/Senior/Master Tech who placed 2nd overall in Ontario on the Fix-It-Right-First-Visit score for 2010

....who works at a dealership that now employs SOME half decent looking female employees since they overhauled most of the administrative staff

....but STILL loves hot women with big boobies

....and STILL hates working on E-Series with 6.0L
m-chan68 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 11-27-2010, 06:06 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
preston77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 160
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah the mechanic changed the whole thing not the just the fitting and it is the truck in the pic. Guess after I finish trying to be Clark Griswald I'll get to tearing it apart lol. Thanks for the help and soon as I get it done I'll let ya know what the outcome is.

preston77 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 12-04-2010, 08:52 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
preston77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 160
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So I finally got around to getting to Ford this morning to order the part. That part # you gave me didn't work but if you put A in place of B they come up with some metal cylinder thing and the guy at the counter said my motor has 2. Is that what part I should be getting?

[IMG][/IMG]

preston77 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 12-05-2010, 06:38 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
m-chan68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by preston77 View Post
So I finally got around to getting to Ford this morning to order the part. That part # you gave me didn't work but if you put A in place of B they come up with some metal cylinder thing and the guy at the counter said my motor has 2. Is that what part I should be getting?

[IMG][/IMG]
Yes, 6E7Z-9A332-A only gives you ONE standpipe (the part you circled in the picture). But if you order part number 6E7Z-9A332-B, that kit gives you two standpipes (one for each bank of cylinders) and two dummy rail plugs (again, one for each bank of cylinders), along with the crankcase breather tube o-ring and high pressure oil test port plug. Both the dummy rail plugs and the standpipes are now updated with white teflon reinforcement rings.

http://www.yorkdaleford.com/service.html

Ford Diesel/Senior/Master Tech who placed 2nd overall in Ontario on the Fix-It-Right-First-Visit score for 2010

....who works at a dealership that now employs SOME half decent looking female employees since they overhauled most of the administrative staff

....but STILL loves hot women with big boobies

....and STILL hates working on E-Series with 6.0L
m-chan68 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 12-06-2010, 03:48 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
preston77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 160
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I'll head over there today and see what I come up with. I've been to that dealership before but never on the weekend and the guy that was working the counter wasn't 1 of the usual guys working. He probably didn't know or wasn't doing something right.

preston77 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 12-12-2010, 04:06 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
preston77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 160
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So I went back to the dealer and the regular counter dudes were working and pulled the part right up. They ordered it and yesterday I started tackling it. I'm not finished yet putting it back together but I'm thinking you were right on the money. One of the dummy plugs O ring was just about gone. Should have it back together this afternoon and know for sure.


preston77 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 12-12-2010, 04:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does the kit include instructions?
gary2070 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 12-12-2010, 04:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is it necessary to change the valve cover gaskets?
gary2070 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 12-12-2010, 05:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
ajpu1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The valve cover gaskets are reusable as long as they are not damaged. As far as instructions it is pretty straightforward. Remove both valve covers and the standpipes/dummy plugs are 10mm hex and the replacements are 12mm hex. Unscrew the dummy plugs and they will just come out. The standpipes will sometimes come out as 2 pieces. In that case you need to find a piece of wood that will fit into the lower standpipe tight enough to pull it out otherwise you will have to remove oil rail in order to get pliers on the lower standpipe piece that is still stuck in the branch tube. The standpipes and dummy plugs torque to 60 ft. lbs. The Ford LCF's tend to blow the standpipe O-rings and the 6.0s tend to blow the dummy plug O-rings but changing both will ensure no future issues.
ajpu1983 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome