6.0 Spot question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2006, 01:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 Spot question

Hey I have a question, as to it's urgency I am not sure. I have a 2006 F-250 PSD with just over 2300 miles on it. I was checking the oil and crawling under it when I noticed something. I have what looks like an oil streak on the back side of the engine in front of the bell housing. It would be a small spot on my garage floor. Is this normal? I am a newbie to this and am just making sure something isn't going wrong or that I have one of the 6 OH's out there. My oil on the dipstick is clean and full.
I know in the owners manual it said consumption is normal between oil changes. Or is this residual buildup from owning a diesel...Please help.
Thanks,
Shane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-22-2006, 04:27 PM
Banned

the best rule of thumb to follow on oil residue on diesels is if it isnt hitting the ground.....its not a problem.......Marc
Old 04-22-2006, 05:20 PM

I am not sure if it is hitting the ground or not. I am going to put a piece of cardboard under it tonight. If it is, should I schedule an appointment or wait until my first scheduled oil change? I mean it isn't much. I am not sure if the spot is from my PSD or from when I park my 1993 Explorer in there when the truck is out. I know the Explorer has a slight drip (at 150000 miles I am not concerned about the Explorer).
Thanks
Shane
Old 04-22-2006, 05:23 PM
Banned